We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for adventurous diners.”
Review of Bloom Restaurant

Bloom Restaurant
Ranked #120 of 9,166 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Bloom Restaurant features a Nuevo-Latino Cuisine, a fusion of Latin American dishes with a North American touch. Our Cuban Chef Pedro Quintanilla and our Peruvian Maitre D' Pedro Salvin will make you feel as if you are in a Latin Oasis in the middle of Bloor West Village. Classic Dishes from Argentine, Peru, Cuba, Mexico and Spain, are masterfully represented in our menu, as well as classic Latin American cocktails such as Mojitos, Margaritas, Pisco Sours, Sangrias and Caipirinhas as well as a small but nice wine list. Amazing cuisine, warm service, you'll feel as if you are dinning in your house being serve by a member of your family. Come and try it for yourself.
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We needed a restaurant between Avenue Rd Toronto and Burlington that had something different for couples who enjoy trying new things and Bloom's reviews enticed us here. Luckily we had made a reservation, as they were continually quite full throughout the evening. But we didn't feel rushed, were able to get great descriptions of all the dishes, heard interesting details of the staff's heritages and experiences and were treated like new friends.
The restaurant isn't large - might seat 40 or so. and has a nice, but not over the top decor. The emphasis is on really good drinks (try the great Pisco Sour) and wonderfully, delicious food in interesting combinations of tastes.
The ceviche (which I've tried through-out Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America) was excellent and I've never had such an interesting presentation. The camarones with spicy gnocchi were the most turgid and satisfyingly, tasty. Others in our party thoroughly enjoyed the the grilled calamari, the octopus and the veal cheeks. The guava bread pudding while small, was again delicious with an interesting combination of flavours. I would gladly return and have exactly the same wonderful meal, but I am sure next time there will be other enticing dishes to try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016

A meeting of old friends was nicely enhanced with delicious food, prompt and friendly service from Pedro. A BWV gem worthy of a further visit!

Thank Riskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

We came upon Bloom by sheer chance. We were headed to Via Allegro and the snow storm was making it impossible to get there so we decided to find the closest restaurant to where we were at the time and that was Bloom. We walked in to a full welcome; it felt like we were entering a friends house. Besides the unbelievable service the food and drinks were to die for....so tasty and truly one of the best meals I have had in years. This is a hidden gem that you should really try. Do ask for Pedro; he is a great help if you are wondering what to have from the menu...be adventurous, it will be worth the leap.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amc19612014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Thank you so much for the amazing review. So glad the snow brought you in. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Had lunch here last week on finding ourselves in the neighbourhood and were" blown away" by the fabulous flavours in our meals.. We each chose the three course lunch
which featured fresh halibut but I began with soup and my husband chose the salad. My soup had wonderful flavour with a little heat in the finish. We each had dessert, a yummy cake with accompanying ice cream. If there was anything negative about our visit it was not the friendly ambience of the host but rather the relaxed service. I think this might be a cultural difference as in Europe patrons are often treated as "guests" with highly efficient service being seen as a slight and more than a little rude.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judie704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for your kindwords about the food. At Bloom we do not have a high end restaurant attitude, we are friendly and down to earth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

This is a very unique restaurant with high quality food composed out of a creative mixture of Spanish/Peruvian/Latin cuisines. We have discovered the restaurant in early Sept 2016 and went there 3 more times after just so we can try other items on the menu. We were not ever disappointed.

Great relaxing atmosphere - good for dates and double dates. The servers are professional and friendly.

I recommend this establishment to anyone who appreciates high quality original dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leonidas2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bloom Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Bloom Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing