We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hidden gem on Bloor West”
Review of Bloom Restaurant

Bloom Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 9,385 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Bloom Restaurant features a Nuevo-Latino Cuisine, a fusion of Latin American dishes with a North American touch. Our Cuban Chef Pedro Quintanilla and our Peruvian Maitre D' Pedro Salvin will make you feel as if you are in a Latin Oasis in the middle of Bloor West Village. Classic Dishes from Argentine, Peru, Cuba, Mexico and Spain, are masterfully represented in our menu, as well as classic Latin American cocktails such as Mojitos, Margaritas, Pisco Sours, Sangrias and Caipirinhas as well as a small but nice wine list. Amazing cuisine, warm service, you'll feel as if you are dinning in your house being serve by a member of your family. Come and try it for yourself.
Reviewed 30 October 2016

This is a very unique restaurant with high quality food composed out of a creative mixture of Spanish/Peruvian/Latin cuisines. We have discovered the restaurant in early Sept 2016 and went there 3 more times after just so we can try other items on the menu. We were not ever disappointed.

Great relaxing atmosphere - good for dates and double dates. The servers are professional and friendly.

I recommend this establishment to anyone who appreciates high quality original dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leonidas2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Wow. One of the best meals I have ever eaten. Visited in a Saturday night. We had reservations, I would recommend making reservations. Very small restaurant but great wait staff knowledgeable about the food choices and very friendly and personable. They made us feel like family. The food was so flavourful it was amazing. If you love good food and want a great dining experience you have to eat here.

1  Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Came here with my mom, and reserved 30 minutes prior to our reservation. We came in on time, but our table still not ready. They told us it might take more time. Once we got seated, it took FOREVER for the food to come out. The restaurant was quite full, and it's not that big either, but we were getting a bit impatient after 30 minutes and still no appetizer. Our server told us that everything is made fresh, so that's why it takes a long time. Once the food came out, we were pleasantly surprised. The food was quite amazing. The only reason why I give this restaurant 4 stars is because of the wait. Maybe if it were a bit earlier and a weekday it would have been fine, but just to tell anyone out there, do not come here on a weekend if you're starving. If you are a bit hungry and will be willing to wait, it's great. Amazing food and nice people.

Thank wowsomanyusernames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for taking your tame to write about us. We do everything al minute, not fast food here, it takes time so that you are pleasently surpriced when it is served. Weekends are also busy and for a small resto with a tiny kitchen, is hard. Hope you come back and give us a second try on a regular night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The name, Bloom, grandfathered in from it's previous incarnation as a local food resto, belies the Latin American theme of the menu - Bloor St W seems to keep its better non-chain restaurants somewhat incognito.

Chef has worked at some of the best known, critically acclaimed latino restaurants in Toronto, and it shows, with a creative, deft hand in the kitchen. You can worry about Pisco Sour being originally from Chile or Peru, but the Bloom version of this drink itself is worth the detour. Our latest visit featured foraged mushrooms prepared various ways, the ravioli were amazing. The cassava fries are always a hit, as is the ceviche - great menu and very reasonable prix fixe options too. The wine list is naturally oriented towards Chile / Argentina, with solid choices, even with the house wine selections.

The service is always gracious and the dining room is intimate with a warm ambiance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nonsibisedaliis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

It wasn't busy the night we went, so staff spent extra time with us. Service was wonderful. The black cod was good. I had veal cheeks which were stellar! So tender and tasty. Great flavor.
I'm not the biggest cocktail person but the pisco sour is worth trying. Very good flavors.

Thank TMRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomRestaurant, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bloom Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Bloom Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing