We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of El Arriero

El Arriero
Ranked #2,378 of 9,819 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Colombian
Neighbourhood: York-Crosstown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: York-Crosstown
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We came for lunch today and enjoyed everything we ordered! We had the arepas with cheese and the empanadas to start. The salsa served with the empanadas was spicy in the tastiest way! For our main courses, we enjoyed the flautas (fried chicken tacos), chicken enchiladas and tacos al pastor. Each plate came served with a generous portion of rice and beans and a small taste of guacamole as well as a salad. Our server was friendly and efficient. While not an upscale eatery, there were unique wall hangings for entertainment. Instead of individual chairs, the tables have a bench on each side. The only downside was this left no place to put winter jackets. I'd recommend a meal here if you are in the area.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank BonnieF863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2016

I'm a regular at this Baby Point restaurant (west end Toronto) the Sopa de Mariscos (seafood soup) is fantastic. Contains:

-clams
-mussels
-whitefish
-crab
-shrimp
-octopus, and
-squid

It's possible that I missed something. Must be tried! And comes with a side of rice and avocado. I've tried other dishes, they are great too, but this one keeps me coming back.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmbpgbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

The service and food was excellent. The owner was helpful in guiding is through the menu and keep checking to ensure we enjoy the food such as how to enjoy Spanish bacon etc.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Not quite Mexican but very similar, Arrieros holds down the area as the original "taco spot" in Baby Point. Mostly visited by "people of Spanish influenced decent", here you will find beverages like "Colombiana" (Colombiam soda that tastes like coke and cream soda mixed together) and all sorts of fare that resembles Mexican (tacos, burritos, choriqueso...). It's all quite good and the servers are few, but quick. It's a hole-in-the-wall kinda decor place but it has a certain charm of its own. Kinda like the owner robbed a souvenir shop in Colombia and threw all the trinkets around the restaurant. Nothing but love for this joint.

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank DJKham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We came to this restaurant at 3 PM on a Monday and although operating schedule, website and Facebook page states that they are open they were close.

Can't find any good Colombian restaurant open in Toronto for lunch. What a shame!

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maritzgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Arriero also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to El Arriero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing