We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bike and See” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toronto Islands

Toronto Islands
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.11*
and up
Toronto Islands Morning Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 500 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park consisting of four main islands and containing trails, beaches and children's amusement rides.
New England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bike and See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This day trip was the highlight of my week in Toronto. I rented a bike on the mainland. I bicycled around the entire Island. It was srping and the cherry trees and other flowering trees were budding. Lots of birds and not so many people. 3 people on the beach were I took a rest from my bike tour. The sand at the beach was like baby powder. THe firefighers at the Island Fire House were nice to chat with, so too were the people I encountered in the residential neighborhood. I pray that the Billy Bishop Airport does not expand, taking away much needed green space in a growing city.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,321
    1,422
    239
    34
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“perfect escape and discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Toronto Islands are at once an insight into an alternative lifestyle to the expensive city on the other side of the ferry dock and an escape to a stunning park with beaches, promenades, bike paths and food. Those who live on the islands do not appreciate gawkers but they tend to tolerate guests who can witness a cozy neighbourhood facing the CN Tower with all the usual city services. There is something for everyone: breezes in the oppressive summer months, along with beaches and lake if you're brave. There are amusements for tourists: bikes to rent, including vehicles for 4 that are very fun if you arrive early enough. And if you just need a break from this intense city, long walks with regular ferries back to the urban insanity are available. Even on a drizzly day, onc can enjoy the rides for kids, the restos for adults, and the covered bike rentals. Try it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to spend the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We love the beaches, a great place to hang out for the day.

Helpful?
Thank Georgetown2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is a nice area and a great place to spend your entire day complete with a picnic basket and all! The kids will definitely enjoy all the rides. Every year they also have many different things happening here. For e.g.: the dragonboat races. They are really fun to watch. (and participate!)

Lots of great places to take photos too. And little lakes and ponds. PLENTY of space for everyone to have a picnic and enjoy themselves.

The ferry can be a tad bit expensive that gets you there and back. And it comes at certain times only so you have to time yourself accordingly. There can be HUGE LINEUPS for it on nice summer weekends.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sasha Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In the summer, iti s definitely a place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I like going over to the Islands, especially in the summer. You can take a bike over and quietly pedal around the Island. There are nice beaches to swim at, lots of greenery and places to relax. Also some of the best views of the downtown skyline. I feel like I've had a mini vacation when i go over.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank djulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toronto Islands also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Toronto Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing