We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$181
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$177
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$218
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$325
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$330
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$327/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$258
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$257
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$265
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,193)
Filter reviews
2,193 results
Traveller rating
1,106
726
209
81
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,106
726
209
81
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic videoscitrus restaurantrooftop terracehot tub on the roofeaton centrejarvis streetbreakfast buffetindoor poolhomeless peoplehome friessmall kitchenettebedroom suitethe sofa bedfresh fruitsitting areashuttle servicest lawrence market
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 2,193 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

The Fine Print
Upon check-in photo identification and credit card are required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Guests under the age of 21 are only allowed to check in with a parent or official guardian.

Please note, this property does not accept Visa debit, Mastercard debit or any other debit cards. This property does not accept cash. A valid credit card is required to book the room and pay the balance upon check out.

For long stays, high-demand dates and/or at the hotel's discretion, the hotel reserves the right to charge your credit card for 100 percent of the first night in advance.

Just wanted to post this here so everyone knows, because I didn't. I had almost lost my booking for a one night stay because they charged my credit card a week in advance. I didnt' think they were that desperate for money that they would enforce such a policy, but they did. I called the hotel and spoke with a Jennifer. As much as she tried to help, the reservation staff would not hold the room until it was paid for a week in advance. What If I cancel my booking now, do I get my money back? Has anyone heard of paying for a hotel room in full before you stay?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel they are desperate scam artists
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Kyle F,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, we appreciate all of your feedback. As per our terms and conditions when reservations are made, we do reserve the right to take full payment for the first night any time after the reservation has been made. This usually occurs during high demand dates and for long stay reservations. Should you find yourself needing to cancel before 4pm EST the day of arrival, be assured that a refund for the first night’s payment will be processed immediately.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

The husband and I made last minute plans to steal away for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary and chose the Grand to stay because they seemed like a great boutique hotel online and we called to check that their rooftop jacuzzi was still working.
Check-in: It took them 50mins to check us in because we had made last minute reservations and they had to verify if we did not use stolen credit cards - thanks for making us feel like thieves. In a busy metropolis like Toronto, I assume that last minute bookings are the norm and would have hoped that these necessary processes were much more effecient than they currently are.
The Rooftop Jacuzzi: Is quite a bit dangerous. The reason we had booked the Grand was to take advantage of the rooftop jacuzzi and when we got there we found that it was a frozen mess. Only 1 of the 2 whirlpools were working and the one that was had dozens of frozen towels all around the hot tub specially at the steps. The husband almost slipped and tripped into the hot tub. There needs to be MUCH more clean up there for safety purposes.
The next morning: We had the day off and wanted to sleep in but were woken up by Fire Alarm testing at around 730-8am... no one had told us that this testing would occur in the morning and caused us headaches since we had a late night.
Breakfast: buffet was included - quite filling and good. It was open till 10am which allows for sleeping in if there is no alarn testing...
Overall decor: I have to say that I was disappointed by the threadbare carpet and the very used condition of the Lobby sofas. The restaurant and the hallways were nice. The room was small but functional with a kitchenette.
Overall our experience was pretty poor and we will not be returning to this property again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Aamna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Aamna S,

Thank you kindly for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Toronto. We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave a review as your feedback is very important to us. As our rooftop Jacuzzis is one of our top features, we do our absolute best to keep it well maintained. During the time you stayed with us, one of the whirlpools was placed under maintenance due to the extreme weather conditions. For security and safety prevention Fire Alarm Testing is conducted regularly in order to ensure that all equipment is up to regulation. We will be sharing your comments with our Managers to see how we can make improvements.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Great location - close to everything. Girls at reception were excellent. Underground parking was great but made me nervous to park. Gym was great but forgot earphones. Pool was large and hut tub great - a little crowded after dinner. Breakfast was amazing - eggs, bacon, sausages, breads, pastry, muffins, cereals, french toast, juices, fresh fruit and ALL fresh. Also apples at reception desk as well. Only negatives - sofa in gym area was gross (guest probably put feet on it), and sofa bed was not comfortable as a bed. Nice extra was water in the fridge, lots of towels, robe. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Joanne B,

We appreciate you taking your time to leave a review. We aspire to continually be the home you seek when yours is miles away. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

For our first trip in Toronto - we found the GRAND through Expedia. I knew nothing about Toronto hotels, and the deal on Expedia was amazing - so, why not?

This turned out to be an amazing decision. This hotel was absolutely everything we were looking for and would be a terrific choice for anyone going to Toronto.

Here are some of the highlights/reasons to say here:

*Breakfast is included! This takes so much pressure off the trip. And their breakfast buffet is terrific. They have a wonderful assortment of eggs, meats, French Toast, cereals, and even Gluten Free muffins!

On a side note - I'm very picky about Scrambled eggs - and they do theirs exactly how I like them.

*Amazing staff! From the front desk to the housekeeping team - they're all so helpful. I had selected the 1 bedroom suite - but we were upgraded without charge to the 2-bedroom suite. It was immaculate!

Also - we had to unexpectedly and sadly leave a day early to get back to New York before the big snow storm hit - and they worked with us and Expedia - and refunded our last night. Terrific service!

*Location! You can either walk places or get an Uber for a quick ride to wherever in Toronto you want to go. It's so beautifully and centrally located. I knew nothing about Toronto going in, so if you're in a similar boat, don't worry. You can truly get anywhere!

*Wonderful rooms! Our suite was to-die-for. So comfortable, so cozy. The hotel has a bit of an "old school" but classy and elegant feel to it. Still, it has all the modern conveniences you'd want as well.

This hotel is truly a gem - I am so grateful Expedia brought it to my attention. This will be my future "go-to" whenever I am in Toronto. They truly made me want to come back often!

Room Tip: Request a high floor. We were on 11 - and the view was spectacular. But higher would have been even better!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JonJonColumbiaUniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear JonJonColumbiaUniv,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Every day we strive to provide personalized care for all of guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We had a room on the 18th floor. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. The bed was super comfy. The front line staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning. The atmosphere and the food was great. We will definitely plan to stay at The Grand Hotel during our next stay in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunnySideUp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear SunnySideUp60,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. With all of the options, our complimentary breakfast buffet is great way to start the day. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews