We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, spacious room 734”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Got this hotel half price using Hotwire. $109/night. Was concerned about the reviews re: construction. There was no construction during the weekend.
Room was on the 7th floor. Quiet. 300 sq. feet 3 Closets, refrigerator, safe, 2 comfy queen sized beds, flat screen tv, sofa & coffee table. Very nice bathroom. Was able to get milk and juice at Shoppers Drug Mart 1 block away. No coffee maker in room but lots of coffee shops 1 block away. Staff was courteous, free WiFi in lobby, quick elevators, great location for theatre. We walked from the train station.

Room Tip: We asked at check in desk about any construction noise. Loved room 734.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear valued guest:

Thank you for sharing this review of your stay with us. We are delighted to have been able to provide you with a pleasant stay. We appreciate all the nice compliments about the room and its features. It is also great to know that the attentiveness of our courteous staff made for a memorable stay.

We hope to see you back!

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,540)
There are newer reviews for The Omni King Edward Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,832 - 2,836 of 3,540 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was the first time staying at King Edward. We had a girls weekend away to Toronto. We had a Mirvish Package that included a theatre/hotel/dinner. There are 3 hotels to choose from and had yet to stay at King Edward. Upon arrival the lobby was the first thing that was stunning to look at. Checking in was done very professionally with a very friendly atmosphere. We had asked for early check in and that was not a problem. They had our room ready for us. The consierge was extemely knowlegable about everything we needed to know and made it very easy for us to find where we wanted to go. He gave us some really amazing tips about really interesting things to see while we were there. The room was really large and well kept. The bedding was amazing. You almost did not want to get out of bed it was so comfortable. Everything about this hotel makes me want to go back again. The location is great. Short cab ride to the entertainment district or if the weather is noce it would be about a 20 min. walk. Lots of restaurants to choose from. We will definately be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntlch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear valued guest:

It is very rewarding to read reviews like yours and we thank you for sharing this with us. I am thrilled that you and your friends had a wonderful experience with our hotel. I appreciate the nice compliments about our lobby and the hotel services that made for a great stay.

Thank you again for your visit and I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in January 2012 with my wife. Beautiful lobby- architecture etc. close to some great restaurants, subway and St Lawrence Market. Rooms were much better than I have read on here. Lots of space but bathroom aesthetics could be nicer (a bit of moisture on wallpaper making it bubble/peel) etc.

Overall will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear valued guest:

Thank you for posting your review and complimenting our lobby and hotel architecture. I am pleased that your personal experience with the guest room was satisfactory, contrary to what other reviews have said about the guest rooms. I have noted your comment about the bathroom and brought it to the attention of our maintenance team for fixing. We appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the King Eddy and were not disappointed. It is an old hotel -1903- so the rooms are small, but we knew that and they were well kept. It's also getting some refacing done to the exterior, but that's not a problem. The location's great - short streetcar ride to the entertainment district. We got a deal from travelzoo and chose to upgrade to the "club" rooms which include hot/cold snacks and wine/beer, along with a continental breakfast. Well worth the $30. The bar is serving dinners, and while we didn't eat there, the food looked very good. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmcg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear valued guest:

I am glad that the hotel offered a convenient location and easy access to your desired destination in the city. It is also great to note that you enjoyed the club floor and its amenities. We offer this feature for an opportunity to enhance every guest’s stay. Thank you for posting your comments and I look forward to your return to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have a soft spot for this hotel. I love the lobby and I find the service to be excellent. Yes, the rooms are a little (a lot) tired, but apparently they will be upgraded, which is nice to hear.

I was here two weeks ago with a group of guys for a bachelor party, and we got a great suite as home base with the other rooms all on the same floor for a rock-botom price of $109 a night. I stayed here again this week for the same price, and got upgraded to that same suite.

The Knig Eddie always treats their platinum guests really well, with terrific upgrades, car service in the morning, club lounge snacks and booze, breakfast, etc. I can't imagine they're making much money off of me for the rate they charge. Staying here is a treat. I go back and forth between here and the Sheraton. My wife likes the Sheraton; I like it here. No doubt the club lounge is nicer and food better at the Sheraton, and my wife likes the rooms there better. I like the free booze in the lounge at the Eddie.

I recommend this hotel highly, as I've always had a good time here. Let's wait and see what happens with the renos, but they'll be able to compete nicely with the big players.

Room Tip: Ask for the red room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear valued guest:

Reviews such as yours are the greatest reward for the work that we do and make our efforts all so worthwhile. Thank you for your kind words and the glowing compliments. Thank you for continuing to stay at our hotel during all of your travels. We take great pride in the service that we provide to each and every guest, most especially to our Platinum guests. I am glad that we have been able to consistently provide such service at the highest standards. We anxiously await your return!

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,443 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: €182 - €531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing