We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coast to Coast”

Kinka Izakaya Original
Ranked #115 of 8,641 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: An Izakaya is a Japanese-style pub and what we strive for at KINKA IZAKAYA is an authentic Izakaya with great food and drinks in an unique atmosphere. Our goal is to serve each and every one of our guests happiness as they experience a "truly authentic Japan".
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coast to Coast”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have been to the Guu on the west coast (vancouver) to the east coast. The food has always been great, I enjoy both the beef and tuna tataki, gyoza, sashimi's and the numberous specials that they have. It has been a great dining expereince. It was a little over whelming at first with the staff yelling but its all part of the ambiance. Fun and loud.
The only down fall is the wait for a table. It took about 45 mins to grab a table. If you have the patience, it is definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    156
    35
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and great for drinks but expensive dinner!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Went with 5 other friends to celebrate a friend's birthday. A lot of fun with waiters/waitresses keep yelling welcomes to customers and unique experience but would not return because of the price. Did not order that much food and the bill turned out to be close to $50 per person. Not even full after that and had to grab another late bite....

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interstin..”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

You walk in, and every one yells some thing at you....huh? oh they were greeting us...pub style asian. The menu was interesting, we ordered a soup, wasnt exactly hot, noodles were very firm..our drinks took a while to come, they managed to fill my water twice before my beer arrived...food was fast..presentation was wow factor, but messily put together

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 928jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was expecting better”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Had been hearing about this place for months so I decided to finally go; it was okay. Too much hype

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“FUN WELCOME WITH DELICIOUS JAPANESE CUISINE”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Place is affordable but get there early ( place opens @5PM) for dinner, restaurant gets full fairly quickly !! The hot sake I ordered wa somewhat watered down but the udon with clams was worth the wait and the Fried brie and fried tofu, fried shrimp with spicy mayo was delicious !!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolkatacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinka Izakaya Original also viewed

 

Been to Kinka Izakaya Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing