We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Country Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$125
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valhalla Inn(Thunder Bay)
US$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Thunder Bay)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
7
15
6
8
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
15
6
8
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Very odd experience here, I completely regretted making a reservation. Unfortunately, I was so tired from traveling, I stayed, but I wish I had gone somewhere else. From the sounds of it, the motel has changed ownership recently, and the best word I can use to describe this place is SKETCHY!! Bed linens gross, slept on towels... Carpet not vacuumed, bathroom just awful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was the MOST disgusting place that I have stayed in my life. I made a reservation based on the internet. DUMB move on my part. I was travelling across Canada and thought that it looked like a cute place to stay. The housekeeper had to check us in, and we had to pay cash as the owner was passed out drunk inside. The room smelled horrible. All of our food had to be thrown out as the fridge was actually a freezer, and was frozen in the morning. I can't beleive that more people haven't written a review for this place. I can't believe that a health inspector hasn't closed this place down. Save your money, or spend a bit more and stay someplace that you don't feel the need to sleep in your clothes....

Room Tip: smelly and dirty
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This motel is filthy, dated and extremly unacceptable! No towels in the washroom. No curtins on the bathroom windows. Burn marks on the bedding. No fans or air conditioning. Very tiny rooms. Just go down the street and find much nicer, clean rooms and better value then this place. We didn't even stay the night. We left and found another room. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anguspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel was dirty an disscusting. No AC - No Screens on windows - Old dissgusting furniture - No towels - Dirty frosted up fridges. BAD BAD BAD. Owner apparently drinks all night and sleeps all day.
I would not let my dog sleep there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1963Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I was very disappointed in this motel. There was no air conditioning however, we did have a fan. Since the room was so very tiny the fan actually did a not bad job. Other than a new floor the room was very dated and a little bit shabby, especially the bathroom. The owner/manager did not have my reservation even though I had just called a couple of weeks before my trip. Initially she tried to give me a room that was already occupied. On the whole the room was clean enough but, we found a half eaten icecream concoction that was frozen to the fridge in the fridge. There was also the usual complimentary coffee but, the coffee maker looked dirty to me so I passed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews