We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a classic”
Review of Boar's Head Pub

Boar's Head Pub
Ranked #35 of 150 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed 7 May 2018

It's a good answer following "What should we do." The Boar's Head is an awesome pub for any night of the week, but Friday is the must-go day. Friday's have live music and its great to meet a group or a friend there. It has bar food, but there are a few fancier options that are within budget! In a tourist city it has managed to maintain a familiar sort of feel that makes it seem to be meant for regulars and locals. There is not a lot of seating so you may end up waiting for a table. It's pretty central so I would even suggest stopping in for a drink at the Hub (5 min walking distance) while waiting for some tables to free up at Boar's Head.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2018

Stopped in for lunch. Was very busy. Small pub. Cold beer. Had a clubhouse and fries, was good. There is a hotel upstairs. Very typical

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luvhoteladventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Me and some friends were visiting Stratford and had heard the boars head was a good place for some chicken wings. The wings were pretty good but we were shocked and appalled by the behavior of our server Mel. She was rude to us the entire time, treating a group of grown men as if we were children. Will not be going back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank habsfan336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Wings are a personal thing. A discussion among buddies on our favourite wing choices came up with The Boar as the Stratford hang out for a fill up. The wings are fat, well dressed and yummy comparable to the best of the rest. The best is still in Buffalo but Stratford is a lot closer.
This a bar so order bar food. You cannot go wrong with the wings.
Be the Boar.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank LorenzoelJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Knowing we were not going for a fine dining experience, on a recommendation, we tried the Boar’s Head. Some good pub food sounded great. What we received in the food department was well below average. The atmosphere was what we expected, the beer choices selection was fine.
The food that we received was palatable at best. Fish and chips and a burger, not a big order for a pub, but what was delivered was an over cooked burger, uneatable, frozen fries , and the fish and chips ordered by the others were all met with the same result , terrible.
With so many options to choose from, this was a definite miss

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank spine64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boar's Head Pub also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Boar's Head Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing