We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Good street”
Review of Down The Street Bar & Cafe - CLOSED

Down The Street Bar & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: American, International, Healthy, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Susan Dunfield has retired Down The Street is now under new ownership
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's a Good street”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

i love the place and the food --especially if you can get the window corner

Helpful?
2 Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    53
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More sophisticated than a 'Gastro Pub'”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great food! Great atmosphere. We were very glad we gave it a go. Caesar salad had too much dressing, but otherwise everything was well prepared and very flavourful. Make sure you get a reservation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avienneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Down the Street is a great restaurant. Atmosphere is small and intimate and the food is consistently delicious with a lot of variety on the menu. We have enjoyed every meal we have had there. The tables are small and bunched together and it is almost always dark and crowded - but this is part of its appeal. The servers are friendly, helpful, and maybe a little edgy - but its all part of the fun of this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in town to eat and party!”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I live in Stratford and entertain out of town guests on a regular basis. If the order of the evening is cocktails, food, wine, and a unique, funky and upscale atmosphere, then Down The Street is where we go. We are always greeted like we are old friends and made to feel instantly like we are part of the party. The servers weave through the crowded bar area making sure everyone is taken care of and having a great time. The frites and aioli are the best in town. The steak is perfectly grilled. The sable fish is delicate and flavourful. The wine list is built for fun with a handful of very tempting rich cousins thrown in!
The window is our favourite place to sit, but if you want a more intimate dinner, sit further to the back. The entire restaurant is so beautifully decorated. Even the washrooms are totally classy.
Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the creative food”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

It was a bit on the crowded side the night we were there, but the energy was fun and the eats excellent!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Down The Street Bar & Cafe also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing