We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
194
191
115
42
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
191
115
42
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool mini golf niagara falls hot tub fairview mall wings sports bar early check rooms are clean fridge and microwave yogurt family wedding convenient location qew highway easy access minute drive niagara area
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This hotel has been a staple in St. Catharines for many decades....but you wouldn't know it! They have maintained it beautifully and are obviously continuing to make upgrades. The lobby area is as welcoming and contemporary as any brand new hotel, and is accented by a very interesting piece of artwork made up of various musical instruments (I'd love to know the story behind the piece!). On the second floor, they were busy completely upgrading about half-a-dozen rooms.....we had one of the "older" rooms but even it was nicely appointed with a VERY comfortable King size bed. The wallpaper was dated, as were the bathroom tiles, but -- honestly -- it was clean and well cared for nevertheless. Of special note was the great HOT complimentary breakfast. SO many hotels these days offer little more than a continental breakfast with some muffins, danishes, and yogurt. This hotel offers breakfast in their restaurant (not just a "breakfast room") and offers omelettes, sausages, homefries, and pancakes, along with all the usual fare (muffins, cereals, etc). Lucinda -- the breakfast host -- greets everyone warmly as they come into the restaurant and goes over the top to be helpful. One SMALL suggestion -- how about china cups for the coffee in the restaurant at breakfast (instead of paper cups)? A small improvement that would make a big difference. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stelly N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank your for the positive feedback. The music piece in the hallway was originally at one of the owners older restaurants. When they closed it they brought that piece over to BW because it had been with the family for many years. We are glad you enjoyed it, we get many comments on it. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a night after a stag and doe, the service was amazing everyone was super friendly when greeted and even when leaving made sure we had an amazing stay, the rooms were very clean and well kept and the bed was soooo comfy!!!! Deffiantly will come back!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank chanteljewelmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stelly N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I must commend Cathy in house keeping. She is very thorough and generates a positive attitude with her staff.
Although they are wonderful an exceptional lady in housekeeping would be Pim.

The owners are gracious and front desk is not only obliging but very hospitable.

Breakfast (continental) is also outstanding.

Gerry is head of maintenance and runs a tight ship. Pleasant man and his staff are always hustling to keep the building and operations in fine order.

It been a pleasure staying here often and is always consistent.

Will always stay here when in the city.

Signed,

Friend of this hotel. Shawn

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stelly N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We will pass on your nice words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I needed a place to stay after the Byrne and Kelly show at the First Ontario Place in St. Catherine's that was close enough to take a cab to the show and back. I ended up having to have an extra person in one room but it worked out fine.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank yepyep925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stelly N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Room 143. Bathroom really small and for some reason the counter level of the sink is very low.

Patio door to indoor courtyard is probably nice in the summer. This past weekend it was too cold to make use of this feature. They have a mini-golf course in the court yard.

Found that the linens had a very strong smell of chlorine to the point where the first night sleep was disturbed.

The heater temperature seemed misleading. Although it read 63, it felt very hot in the room. Room had a microwave and fridge that was useful.

Television was standard digital and lacked HD channels.

Breakfast @Wrigley's (included) was ok. Typical egg, protein (ham one day, sausage the next), beans, french toast/pancake.Servers during breakfast were very attentive; looking to clear the plates at any opportunity.

Pool was enjoyed by the kids. Sauna, hot tub and decent size pool. Lots of teams staying due to Ontario Basketball Finals.

Check-in easy and friendly staff. Staff constantly cleaning around public spaces.

Nearby plenty of amenities (Restaurants Kelsey, Montana literally next door). Costco and Fairview Mall within walking distance. Access right off of the highway.

Electric charging station available. Saw a Tesla plugged in during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stelly N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our product and your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews