We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
A Small Pleasure

There are a number of cruises you can take, including lunch and dinner cruises. We have did an... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Paul S H
Classic Peterborough

Who wouldn’t want to see the largest hydraulic lift locks in the world? Doesn’t matter what time of... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
OnAnotherJourney
,
Canada
via mobile
Read all 547 reviews
  
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
334
171
35
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
171
35
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an engineering marvel boat trip trent severn waterway watching the boats walk up parks canada visitor center visiting peterborough small museum peterborough area picnic tables canal captain operation action technology construction
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stopped by this attraction in the summer. It was quite interesting to see how this lock works. It's quite different than any others that I have seen in the past. We watched a couple of boats go through. We didn't take a tour, just strolled by.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Leah_of_Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Quite a marvel to see the largest structure ever to be built at that time (finished in 1904) in unreinforced concrete. The double “tub” system functions by gravity only, with one tub going up while the other descends. It’s noted as the highest hydronic dual lift in the world, raising and lowering boats 65’.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank kenp300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Loved it. Enhiyed the captain very much abd the locks were outstanding .Very informative.there were washrooms on board too.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank elevatorgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We really enjoyed seeing the locks in operation. We watched from below and then again from the top side. The store has lots of merchandise and we got a great T-shirt. This is a really cool thing to see.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank TimnMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Do you know that Peterborough lift lock is the highest hydraulic boat lifts in the world, raising boats 65 ft (20 m)? It is also the Lock 21 on the Trent-Severn Waterway. It was designated a National Historic Site in 1979. It's grand and tall. No doubt it is a landmark of Peterborough and a must for sightseeing.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Sunset155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews