We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Birthday Celebration”
Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
Ranked #4 of 2,728 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Absinthe is a Restaurant where you can eat too much, drink too much, put your elbows on the table and laugh out loud... all at the same time and nobody cares. Absinthe is a restaurant of the people for the people.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a guest at this restaurant for my 75th birthday. My first visit.

We asked for a window table and were not disappointed. We were greeted on arrival and waited a few moments for the table to be cleaned. The server appeared quickly and took our wine order.

Two appetizers were ordered: the salmon tartar and the boar pate. The salmon was perfectly presented and tasted wonderful. The boar was a large portion that surprised me but tasted great. Too much for two people.

I had the steak frites and it was done to perfection. The salmon equally tasty.

The restaurant is accessible. I did not have have the opportunity to assess the washroom as I usually do in my reviews.

I was a little surprised that although they were aware of the celebration, no actual recognition was made at all. That would have crowned the evening.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The focaccia was delicious, perfect combination with a fresh and tasty tomato salad for start. Good variety of wines that you can’t find at the liquor store, we chose a nice Malbec. Steak perfectly prepared medium rare, crunchy fries with awesome garlic sauce. My girlfriend order the duck and loved it because it wasn’t greasy as usual in some other restaurants. It came with a nice honey touch and mushrooms very well cooked! Finished with a nice and not sweet crème brûlée. Mitchell was our server, very professional. Totally recommended!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Jocgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, Chef at Absinthe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful restaurant setting, service was fantastic and food was excellent. Brilliant experience from start to finish.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank s3desouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, Chef at Absinthe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food is excellent as is atmosphere. Service is very good, formal but not stuffy.
The three members of our group each had a different appetizer (and fought over whose was best), and had a similar discussion over the three different main courses (steak, duck and pasta). We each tasted all of them.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank professorsOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021

Relaxed atmosphere, attentive service, excellent food, good wine list with well priced options. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank G21OIjulianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, Chef at Absinthe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Music to our ears, thank you so much! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.