We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveller rating
445
514
155
43
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
514
155
43
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indigo hotel parliament hill laminate flooring downtown ottawa byward market parking garage front desk staff location is great tim hortons bed was very comfortable corner room rideau canal sparks street national gallery mini fridge coffee maker atrium
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

This hotel is a nice hotel. This hotel has renovated rooms. My check-in was effective and the guy at the front desk was very nice. My room was 420 overlooking the inside court; was nice and quiet. There are wood floors in the room which is always better than carpet. The bed was extremely comfortable however an extra heavy blanket would have been nice. The lobby is has cathedral ceilings up to the 6th floor and is spectacular. When I came the rooms were scarce in Ottawa so it was not a bargain. Overall I was very satisfied. What you need to know that might be important to you; there is no valet parking. You need to park your own car; so I recommend you bring your luggage in the room because the parking lot is not very close. You have to take the car and go around the block, then go into the Residence Inn Parking down the ramp, there are 3 levels so hopefully you will be on the first level like I was. Once you come up the elevators you are in the Residence Inn Lobby and then you have to take the elevator and corridor that brings you to the Metcalfe Hotel. It is not exactly close so if you have someone who has reduced mobility it might be an issue. Other than the parking my experience was great; it is good to know because some guests like valet parking.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for the 4 Star Review Nancy L. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us from our staff to our comfortable rooms to our renovated lobby space. Parking is at a premium in the downtown core and not available in our historic building unfortunately. We do recommend our guests unload their luggage before parking to make it a little less inconvenient. We hope our good points make up for the parking and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit to Ottawa!
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I am a local resident and I came by to the ROX for a few drinks and a charcuterie plate to share with a friend. We sat at the bar and Lily, who was our bartender/server was very attentive and affable during our stay at the bar. I also want to add that MJ, who works in the kitchen was just as friendly and attentive.

Thank you ladies!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for the 5 Star Review Ricardo B. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in The Rox and that Lily and MJ took care of you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable. The rooms are on the small size, but adequate. I understand they are about to commence renovating the rooms and is is time this was done. The only negative I have is the in-house restaurant is below par, but there are so many good restaurants near so it is not a problem.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KenRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for the 4 Star Review KenRW! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back again soon to check out our renovated guest rooms!
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay while in Ottawa. Close to everything. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were very clean and bed was very comfy. Will miss our bartender Lilly. We will definitely be back. Love the city. So much to see.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for the 5 Star Review Christine G! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us from our clean rooms to our comfy beds to our friendly and accommodating staff! Your comments have been shared with Lily and the rest of the team! We hope to see you back again soon.
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Great stay, close to everything pretty much. Very nice Lobby, clean and great room. Noelle and Waylon were awesome at front desk, very helpful and knowledgeable. Would stay again and would recommend this hotel

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you so much for the 5 Star Review and the shout out to Noella & Waylon! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us from our cleanliness to our location to our helpful staff! We hope to see you back again very soon!
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews