We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
593
485
149
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
485
149
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge lounge spin restaurant kent street teen room air hockey parliament hill supreme court corner room byward market self parking walking distance king bed front desk staff business trip bit dated the room was nice checking in
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We only had a day on Ottawa and this was a great base . We could walk everywhere . Our room was in the 18th floor and had a view of the water .
A great place to stay with all the Marriotts bells and whistles .

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joannp653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, General Manager at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ottawa Marriott Hotel through TripAdvisor. As a valued Marriott guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read that you had a brilliant stay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Stephane P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The hotel itself is good, I was offered membership with Marriott rewards program, and had access to Concierge Lounge. Everything is decent, staff are pleasant and helpful. The restaurant (SPIN) was good, though at times waiters would ignore you for like 15-20 minutes. Both times we received wrong food :) Starbucks store on the first floor sucks and closes early. Actually, everything around the hotel seemed to be closing early and/or not working. Plus, construction around doesn't help either. I was busy with my own stuff, too busy to pay attention, but overall experience was very good. If not for little things I'd have given it 5 stars. Yes, parking is effectively a third party parking, a bit odd as you exit to some other places if you don't pick the right door.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andriy V. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, General Manager at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our hotel. It is fantastic to read that our hosts were pleasant and helpful during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Stephane P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

so where do I begin with, got to the hotel at around 4 on saturday may 20, called the hotel twice to make sure that we will get two doubles instead of one king and when we got there the front desk said that only the room with one king is available. and the guy said that we make the booking but its not 'guaranteed' that you will get what you requested. however when i called i was assured that the room with 2 doubles has been secured for us. anyway the front desk manager managed to get the room with 2 doubles within a couple of minutes and we checked in. the hotel definitely does not match Marriott's hospitality standards, but then again I felt like Ottawa in general was pretty awful when it comes to hospitality and customer service. i have stayed at Marriott in many different location in particular beneath standards. we vallet our car and when we were leaving to go around on sunday we noticed that there a dent and green paint on the left rear door. I am beyond angry because when I spoke to the manager he kept implying that this could'av happened on my watch. although the manager assured me that they are looking into this and this could take a couple of days and they don not know how it happened and all, i just feel so frustrated with my experience at Marriott altogether now. never has something of this sort ever happened. Do not stay at this hotel if you are expecting good customer service and hospitality. one of the drivers hit my car somewhere in the parking and now theres a huge green scrape and dent on my car. RIDICULOUS!!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Fizza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, General Manager at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel. We are perturbed to read about your poor experience in our city. This is obviously not the impression we wish to leave with any tourist that visits our beautiful Nation’s Capital. Based on your comments, this is certainly not the typical service that our hotel is recognized to offer based on the 85% approval rating from TripAdvisor reviews received. We are terribly sorry that you left with this impression and we will review this account with our operations group to ensure that we respond pro-actively to guest concerns. We thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we wish you a great day.

Sincerely,
Stephane P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Just returned from a three-day stay at the Ottawa Marriott, our first visit to this establishment. We upgraded to a King Suite, located on one of their "Consierge Service" floors and we were not disappointed!
The room was on one of the top 3 floors, and had a beautiful view of the Ottawa River -- incredible sunset, not to be missed. This room also had a King-sized bed and a queen-sized pullout couch which was quite comfortable for a pullout. The "Consierge Lounge" is located on the 26th floor, and offers a decent continental breakfast with a machine that dispenses specialty coffees and a fridge with a variety of cold drinks. The staff in the Lounge were very attentive and quickly replenished the food, they also kept the Lounge quite clean. Hors d'ouvres were also served in the evening but we did not attend.
We also visited the pool during our stay, which was quite busy with families and small children. The pool area was kept quite clean, but one word of caution: there are no stairs, only a ladder to enter the pool. The hotel also provided pool noodles, beach balls and lifejackets for young swimmers. There were also 2 separate "play rooms" -- one for teens and one for small children. We enjoyed playing basketball, floor hockey and air hockey in the "teen" room, and were quite impressed with the variety of activities available for kids of all ages.
The hotel itself is located at the West end of Sparks Street, which is a hotbed of restaurants and shops. Parliament Hill is only one street North, and it's about a 15 minute walk to the Byward Market.
AND -- free Wifi.
We were quite pleased with our visit and would definitely return to this hotel!

Room tip: North-facing rooms view the Ottawa River, particularly the upper floors
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CantStandSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, General Manager at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for this incredible review. It is satisfying to read that we delivered a fantastic experience and that you took the time to write a review about this. We are delighted that you selected our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephane P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We have had a great stay at this Marriott. We came for the Sens/Pens game and decided to make a weekend if it. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful (wearing hockey jerseys when we arrived). David served us a great wine in the lounge, listening to what we wanted. Our room was clean and comfortable. It is not fancy but certainly above average. The location was perfect for enjoying all that Ottawa has to offer and walking distance to all kinds of food choices. Thanks for a great weekend- even though we can't hold you responsible for the Pens win! -Go Pens!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VTgeocahewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, General Manager at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for mentioning our great location and the wonderful service provided by David in the "spin" lounge. We are excited about the Senators being in the NHL play-offs and we certainly hope that they will continue their incredible run. Please think of us again when you travel to Ottawa.

Thank you.
Stephane P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews