We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$156
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$201
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
US$224
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$154
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$343
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$234
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$173
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$258
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Business Inn & Suites(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
US$147
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
138
79
20
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
79
20
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsegyptian roomvictorian suitesandy hillarmstrong familybyward marketold victorianceiling fanparliament hillyogurtwithin walking distanceprivate bathroombreakfast was deliciousclose to downtownb and bbreakfast servicenations capitaltop floor
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is a very charming B+B / Inn, a welcome change from a homogenous chain hotel, and at a price which doesn't make the eyes water. It has its idiosyncracies, but that's part of the charm, but if you're really fussy about pillows, you might want to bring your own.

The dining room is very welcoming and breakfast was excellent, much better than the convention breakfast! Great neighbourhood, and close to downtown (and a LCBO store!).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nonsibisedaliis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The Inn is a beautiful old heritage home located within walking distance of the Byward Market and the Parliament buildings. The breakfasts were wonderful and service was great. We stayed in the Parisian Room which was on the 3rd floor of the Inn so involved three sets of stairs to climb. Our room was quite small but well appointed and had almost everything we needed with the exception of the bed. The queen sized bed was very soft and my husband and I rolled to the middle so it was difficult to get a restful sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcheaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

McGee's Inn is in Sandy Hill, within easy walking distance of the sights in downtown Ottawa, yet in a quiet treed residential area. It's in a lovely old house and the rooms are interesting and fairly well appointed. The rooms have air conditioning, which is a bonus, even on a hot day in September. My friends had a room with a ceiling fan that they were happy to use instead of the AC. I would have liked one in my room too. A big breakfast was included, which gave us a good start to our day of being tourists. But it seems a bit ... tired is maybe the best word. A bit worn. The toilet in my room ran unless I fiddled with it. One of the taps was missing its "cap" so didn't look as nice as it might, there was a chip in the soap dish. Little things like that that add up to a slightly tired, worn feel. There was only one reachable electrical outlet available to charge my phone and it was not near the bed for easy reach. I loved that I could open my windows for some air but one window that opened was missing a screen. The dining area seemed very stuffy, no air moving at all. Also, my friends found the breakfast Eggs Benedict to be a bit tasteless and my omelette was fine but nothing special. Great orange juice though. And the staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Second or third floor, not next door to the dining area. Avoid the rooms in the "annex," not as charming.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kkabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed for three nights at McGee's. The location is great...near Byward Market area, close to Parliament and museums, etc. There is a parking fee, which is understandable, given its location. Rooms are OK. Cleaning and upkeep could improve (bathrooms especially...We found someone's pyjamas left hanging on the door...been there a while). Breakfast are copious but there are only two sittings, the last one being at 9AM. They should have a later sitting, at least over the weekends!

Room Tip: Choose a room with access to the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My wife and I spent two days touring Ottawa recently and, after researching Trip Advisor, we decided to book a night in the inn. It is a charming old Victorian era building with all the antique items and old world feeling you would expect to see. But yet it is modern in many ways like the bathroom fixtures and free Wifi. We arrived around noon and parked in their off street parking lot and, since our room was available, we were shown right up to it.

We stayed in the John McGee room on the second floor, which had its own bathroom. It was very large room, had the ambiance of a fireplace (which we did not use, and I'm not sure it is a working fireplace anymore - you'd have to ask), two leather chairs and a large antique solid wood queen bed that was extremely comfortable to sleep on.

We were served a delicious full breakfast the next morning by the members of the efficient, courteous and friendly inn staff, and during the meal we enjoyed the company of another couple who were on tour from Scotland.

The inn is centrally located in a nice neighborhood (Sandy Hill) close to the University of Ottawa and within walking distance to Parliament Hill, the restaurants shops and pubs in the Byward Market, Canada's tomb of the unknown soldier, the water taxi over to Gatineau, Quebec and other places. The off street parking ($10 charge) is a plus for unloading and also because parking on the street is limited and it is monitored.

We recommend this inn highly to those who enjoy the B&B experience. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and we thought the price for the room was reasonable. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The John McGee room is a large, very comfortable room if it is available.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZeroTTZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews