We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveller rating
80
320
281
106
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
320
281
106
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parliament hill byward market rideau canal an older hotel limited parking two queen beds within walking distance war memorial bit dated small kitchenette huge room other attractions living room downtown core sparks street mini fridge signal
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 848 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is right in the heart of Downtown Ottawa, you can walk to every attraction easily. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The service was very good. I can't think of any complaints, I would definitely stay here again with no qualms.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Y5244OY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Ottawa - and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and we hope you were able to experience many of the amazing attractions that are so close to us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

With thanks and kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Central location and some friendly staff. That's about it in terms of pros / benefits.

There wasn't a fridge provided with our room, nor was there a laundry service in the hotel. The balcony was also littered with cigarette butts and our room wasn't serviced during our stay.

The issue of the laundry, the fridge and the lack of our room being serviced were raised with staff who were quick to provide a resolution - fridges don't come with the room, laundry is able to be done down the street at a laundromat (difficult to do in the rain) and fresh towels were provided when the matter of the room not having been serviced was raised.

Room was clean and tidy on arrival. Beds are comfortable. Internet is fast. No breakfast was included with our room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noraa7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

We thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately, not all of the rooms in the hotel have fridges or kitchenettes, however, this is something that can definitely be requested upon booking. If requested upon check-in we will make every effort to provide a room with a kitchenette, should we have one available. There is a laundromat a number of blocks from the hotel, and an outside laundry company also provides a pick up and drop off service at the hotel, which is another available option to our guests if they like; it may have not met your turn-around time during this visit however.

We are also following suit, the same policy that many hotels have undertaken in the quest to become more environmentally friendly; where a card that is available in the room can be placed on your bed, should you wish to have your sheets and towels changed daily. Otherwise, they are changed approximately every 3 days for longer term staying guests. (And with a quick call to reception, fresh towels can also be brought up at any time as well, should you need). And of course, all rooms are thoroughly cleaned after each check-out to ensure a clean and fresh room for each new guest that stays with us.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Ottawa, and thank you again for providing your feedback.

Kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I have stayed at this hotel twice - For business - upgraded to a double queen suite on the 10th floor when I had booked the queen but booked from their website and paid 150CAD per night for 6 nights. Suite comes with living space with 3 sofas and writing desk, board table, full kitchenette with microwave, cutlery and crockery, and a double queen bedroom plus balcony! Was dissapointed to see the bathrooms were like a 2 1/2 star motel with old fittings but clean. The second stay was a vacation -single queen booked through a deal website at 100CAD per night and room was on the third floor overlooking the back side. NOT a good view but again the room was quite comfortable. Location of this hotel is excellent for tourists as well as business travellors - 2 min to queen street and bank street, 3 mins from parliament hill, 7 mins to rideu canal,10 mins walk to the byward market, 15 mins to notre dame.

Room Tip: Select rooms facing ALBERT STREET. Bring your own shampoo as theirs is not great and bring a lotion because their soap is too drying!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Raadhika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Ottawa!

With thanks, and kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The hotel is in a fantastic location, walkable to most of Ottawa's attractions. It's two blocks from from Parliament Hill and Sparks Street, 5 minute walk to the Rideau Canal and 10 minutes to Byward Market.

The one bedroom room was huge with a sizable kitchenette, clean and comfortable. The room easily accommodated 2 adults and 2 grown kids. The room was quiet too.

The only minor draw back is the parking. Small garage was filled so we had to park across the street in the World Exchange Plaza. We didn't really need the car so it sat there the entire stay and saved $20 in parking since weekends are free at World Exchange. It would not have been free had we moved the car to the hotel's lot.

Room Tip: Top floor had no street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

We value and appreciate your feedback, and the time you have taken to write a review of the hotel. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the amazing tourist spots in close proximity to the hotel, and that you were able to take advantage of the free weekend parking at the World Exchange Plaza while you did a walking tour of the city.

We look forward to your next visit!

With thanks and best regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

The hotel is only a few minutes away by car from the Via Rail train station, centrally located, a few minutes walk to Sparks St and the Parliament. Byward market is about 10-15 min walk away, quite a few excellent eateries there. The location is impeccable.

It is an older hotel with some signs of fair wear and tear (as shown in pic), but the good thing is that the room size is VERY generous, even the bathroom is very spacious. I had a connecting door with the room next door, and it was quite loud when the group of people next door was talking but that only happened during the day so did not cause any drama, if you are concerned with noise maybe should check if there are rooms with no connecting doors. The daily cleaning service was great, and the wifi signal was very good. Staff at checking in and out was very friendly and helpful, when I checked in the girl at the front counter handled a difficult customer (in my opinion) very professionally.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We always appreciate the feedback we receive, which helps us to better serve our guests in the future. If you are able to send me a private email to salesmkt@capitalhill.com with the room number you stayed in, in that would be very much appreciated, as I see from the photo of the door frame that some wear and tear has occurred. I would assume that this has been noticed by our staff, and that it is scheduled to be repaired, however it is important that I ensure it has not been overlooked, and to notify our maintenance department.

We thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we value and appreciate your review.

With thanks and kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews