We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
364
249
65
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
249
65
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park view confederation park great location valet parking parliament hill byward market starbucks attached valet service classic hotel ice sculptures rideau canal war memorial national arts centre central location beautiful hotel tulip festival corner room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I had a quick one night stay at the Lord Elgin as we were visiting Ottawa for the Remembrance Day ceremony. The hotel has preserved its old and historic look but the rooms are lovely and modern. The bathroom was immaculate and the shower very spacious and beautifully appointed. We had 2 beds that were comfy. Room had a Keurig and a fridge. The hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby as well. The hotel is perfectly situated and within walking distance to all important historical sights as well as the Byward Market and Rideau Centre. Will definitely stay there again upon return to Ottawa.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Thank 907alissat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

UNB alumni gathering in one of their guest rooms. Smallish crowd but the food choices and service were awesome. We stopped for a beer at the adjacent bar just outside and had a couple of local brews. Both great, cold, and wet.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 941davec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night only ; a Friday ; drive up about 8PM ; entrance drive is busy but still space for everyone ; front desk efficient check in; parking is easily taken care of by the valet, cost $30 is good deal for us ; just leave keys with those guys.

Room is clean ; two queen beds ; linens good quality ; washroom is clean, lots of hot water ,towels good quality.
Have good quiet sleep. Check out is seamless.

We leave car there for the day; pick up at 4PM, no extra charge ; car is promptly brought around by the valet;

Hotel is old but is recently renovated; all appears new and good condition. Feels classy .

We will return when next in Ottawa

Stayed: November 2018
Thank Allez-y-donc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the Lord Elgin Hotel in Ottawa this past weekend. This hotel is all about location. The restaurant was terrible, the menu was out of the early 90's (simple and unappetizing). Room service ended at 11pm, no mini bar, and no in-room snacks, not even a bottle of water in the room. Also, make sure you are back to the hotel before 12 mid-night or you get locked out! Lastly, our king sized bed had a bunch of tiny pillows, I'd maybe invest in some king sized pillows for your king suite suites or maybe that didn't fit into the supposed $12 million in renovations. Will not be staying here again, plenty of other choices that actually put some thought into the customer experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stay09844800396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Stay09844800396,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us. We take all comments under advisement in order to better serve our guests.

We’re sorry you were not able to order food after the restaurant closed at 11pm; this is the standard time that is closes unless there is a special event taking place like the Jazz Festival jam sessions.

We have received great feedback on our menus as you can see based on a number of review. We have also recently launched a new menu that has been well received. We would be happy to have you back sometime to try the food and beverages.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you in the future.

Regards,

David Smythe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We stayed 3 nights at the Lord Elgin. This was our second time in several years. The hotel is better than ever. We stayed in a renovated room on the 6th floor. It was far from the elevator & fairly quiet. We did hear the heating system come on periodically. My only beef about the room is that the bathroom is so tiny there is nowhere for 2 people to hang their wet face cloths & towels. Counter is also tiny so there is not enough room to put out all one's toiletries. Aside from that, you can't beat the location within walking distance to all the major sites & many restaurants. Staff is friendly & helpful. Breakfast buffet is delicious with many things to choose from. This is our go to hotel any time we are in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Weswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews