We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
360
247
63
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
247
63
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews confederation park park view great location parliament hill guard parade byward market valet parking starbucks attached classic hotel ice sculptures valet service rideau canal national arts centre central location war memorial corner room beautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Went with my husband for 3 nights for a conference. This is the second time for us staying there. The location is perfect and service amazing. The room was spacious and clean! What else can you ask for???

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Stayed with my wife August 23, 2017. Impressive looking place. Promised room with king bed. Given a box the size of a closet. Manager wanted another $40 for a decent room. Was a cool evening, but hotel turns off boiler to save money. Tiny baseboard heater hardly works. Very noisy place. Wandered through halls to find elevator. Pool bath towels were old, worn and should have been discarded years ago.Charge $30+ for parking. Outside staff very pleasant. Would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ggarberlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,
You arrived at the hotel with an Expedia reservation for a room with a queen bed. We advised you at check in we were sold out and that the only room left with a king bed was a suite which normally sells for several hundred dollars more yet we offered it to you for $40. Yes we turn the heat off in the summer however there is still electric heat in the room if you set the thermostat to heat which was explained to you.
Unfortunately you did not accept our offer or advice, instead you and your guest chose to yell and belittle the very professional and committed staff. Quite frankly here in Ontario your behavior is considered harassment and it is my duty to advise you that you will no longer be welcome at the Lord Elgin as we do respect our employees.
Looking at your posting it is clear our hotel is not the first hotel you have abused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We visited Ottawa withour 3 teenage sons. Arriving at the Lord Elgin rather jetlagged from Frankfurt was already a pleasant start. Staff friendly, hotel in good condition. Breakfast good. Not the most sophisticated / up-to-date hotel but a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Park are worth having.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

This was, by far, one of the most memerable hotel stays I've experienced in several years.

The hotel was exceptionally well kept. The bathrooms were second to none. And the staff were amazing.

I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ottawa. The location was only minutes from the Parliament buildings, near many restaurants and close to the canal (we cycle up and down the canal for about an hour).

Probably the best stop in our one week road trip!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 781panagiotisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear 781panagiotisd;

What a lovely review!! Thank you so much. Our executive housekeeper will be thrilled to read this!! She takes her role very seriously and this will make her day!

We hope you will have a chance to be back in Ottawa and stay with us once again!

Sincerely,
Ann Meelker, Dir of Sales
LORD ELGIN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We travel frequently and have visited all of the US states and this hotel is in our top five ever!! We have visited Canada many times and this hotel made our visit to Ottawa wonderful! We were met with very friendly valets and Sahab took wonderful care of our belongings and parked our car. The desk clerks greeted us warmly and we were upgraded to the best room in the house upon arrival. The room, bathroom and entire hotel was immaculate! Christopher was delightful and made us feel right at home and provided us with maps and suggestions to make our stay the best it could be. He even provided us with a map for a beautiful drive when we left on our way to Toronto! We can't wait to return and stay at this jewel of a hotel!! Ottawa should be proud of the Lord Elgin!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Susan T,
What a lovely review..you have made my day!
We are so very fortunate to have this wonderful location, but even more lucky to have amazing employees like Christopher. He genuinely loves what he does and it shows every day!
Thank you again. We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back!

Ann Meelker, Director of Sales
LORD ELGIN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews