We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible!!!”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

My boyfriend and I had a terrible experience at this hotel. It's tricky booking through Expedia because the hotel used very photoshopped photos on their website and on Expedia.

When we walked in, it was nothing like what we had expected. We were expecting a 4 star hotel for the premium price that we paid, instead we got at most a 2.5 star hotel. The hotel has been around for a while and it's time for some upgrade, charging the price of a 4 star hotel is just greedy. The room was small and dark, the bathroom was also small and old. With the price we paid we could have stayed at a much better hotel.

We called Expedia to explain our experience and unsatisfaction with the room we received. The representative contacted the hotel and got back to us saying that the hotel does not have any authority to do anything until the next day when the manager is back. Then we received a conversation invitation from the hotel saying "we will address this directly". Word for word! How rude is that?! Not even a hello, sorry to hear that you had a bad experience.

After telling the hotel about our experience and that we felt that the hotel was very over priced and misleading by using very photo-shopped pictures, the hotel asked us to leave a contact info and the manager will call. We did so, and received no calls.

We truly felt scammed by this hotel. Go somewhere else, any hotel at this price point is better.

Room Tip: Room was small, old and not worth the money paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karida Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcTheHotel, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Karida Z,

We are very sadden to hear that your experience at our hotel was not up to your expectations and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will be addressing the issues with the relevant department. Rest assured that the pictures on our website and other 3rd party booking sites such as Expedia are not photoshopped as this would not benefit the hotel in any way. We really hope to have the chance to welcome you again as the experience you describe is not typical for our hotel guests. Again, our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Arc The Hotel was my choice for a quick weekend break with my sister. It was centrally located downtown very close to Bank St with shops and restaurants, and a very short walk to the Parliament buildings and Sparks St. A good clean room with a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lhkila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

My sister and I spent a night in Ottawa so I could visit my son who goes to university in Ottawa. I booked on Hotwire. When we arrived on Saturday we were not able to get two double beds because they were over booked on those rooms. The room was clean and had coffee and little creamers in the fridge which is better than powdered stuff. The green apples I read about didn’t appear until the evening but I grabbed a couple for the morning. The free glass of wine was non existent as well. No big deal but I read other people’s reviews and thought it was a nice touch.

Valet parking was quoted at $40!! Apparently on street parking was free on the weekend but we couldn’t find a space. We parked in the parking garage a half block away which was Free!!!!

We had a nice time in Ottawa. Hotel was close to where we wanted to be.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank CCRR2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Which would be fine if the price paid indicated the quality, however it is not. Would not recommend. I stay in many hotels for both business and leisure travel and this is not usual. It is close to parliament, that is the one positive.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SALabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcTheHotel, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear SALabbe,

We are sorry to read that you had an underwhelming experience at our hotel. This is not a comment that we frequently hear but we can certainly understand your disappointment. We wish we could have remedied this situation with an alternative room in order for you to get the rest you deserve. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend while in Ottawa for my daughter's award dinner. Nice hotel close to Parliament and restaurants on Sparks. Pleasant welcome. Elevator a bit slow. Comfortable king bed in good size room. View wasn't great but it was a good night sleep. Had drinks in the lounge. Good selection but would suggest that some kind of bar snacks like pretzels would be nice. Would stay here again when in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Soymoosemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
430 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Metcalfe Hotel
#18 of 68 in Ottawa
1,093 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,137 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: €101 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing