We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Room was very clean and spacious. Bed also really comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Staff very helpful and welcoming all the time. Really exceeded our expectations. And the location is perfect, close to public transport and parliament hill, which is great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erichT6119TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcTheHotel, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for the impeccable review! We are always so happy to read that we exceeded expectations through comfort and customer service. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

No store for neccessities inside hotel or gym for the traveler. Overall the hotel and the room was very clean and the coffee bar was a plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angelalR9750TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Stayed there for two nights. The check in process was fast, and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a one King bed room, and it is very spacious. Everything is very clean as well. On my first night there I had dinner at their restaurant and the food was excellent. The server was very friendly and helpful in terms of helping me to order food.

The only downside was on Monday early morning, the garbage truck would come and pick up the garbage and was creating a very loud voice. I was a bit under the weather already and woke me up so I wasn't resting too well. However, the hotel staff did help me to get a kettle so I can make some hot water in my room to feel better.

One thing to note is I was told that Wi-Fi access inside your room is charged separately. I used Wi-Fi in the lobby instead.

Other than that the location is excellent - walking location to Tim Hortons, Second Cup, Subway, Parliament Hill, Sparks Streets etc.

Room Tip: Asked for a room at the back, but not right next to the garbage truck drop off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janice I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I stayed for two nights. The location is excellent. Check-in was smooth and they let me have my room early at 1 pm which I appreciated - although the lobby area had a musty smell. The staff were friendly and helpful. A few things kept me from giving this a higher rating. The biggest issue for me was that my room faced the adjacent building and I had an excellent view of the people in conference rooms right next to me. I assume this also means they could see into my room and as a result I kept my blinds closed for the whole stay (even the bathroom had a clear glass window!). The room itself was large, clean and comfortable - although on the dark side without the natural light. The bed was soft and I had no trouble sleeping. There was a safe available and ample desk area for working. The elevator in this building is also painfully slow and there did not seem to be a service elevator as I constantly would run into staff moving laundry carts from floor-to-floor in the main elevators. In-room dining was reasonably quick and of good quality. Overall next time I will pay an extra $40 to stay at the Fairmont just a few blocks away (my client selected the hotel this time).

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the street. Some rooms facing the west side look into the building next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

My girlfriend and I stay here whenever we are in Ottawa and always select a room with one of their large, oval tubs. Breakfast in bed always has a lot of fruit and the staff is helpful. There is no pool and it is a short walk to Byward Market and the Houses of Parliament but we like this place better than the rather staid Elgin or Fairmont.

4/5 is only because there is no pool. Otherwise, this place gets closer to a 5/5, particularly for the price

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 0_Justme_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
430 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Metcalfe Hotel
#18 of 68 in Ottawa
1,093 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,137 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: €101 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing