We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not staying here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Door locks don't work properly, water pressure comes and goes (stops completely when showering just for fun), internet is slower than most hotels and staff don't seem overly interested in fixing the issues.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank T1769QSpeterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, this is definitely not the experience with product and service our guests have come to enjoy and expect. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and will be using your feed back to ensure future guests will not encounter the same.

Regards

Steve Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

This hotel was quite nice in decor and excellent service. The bed was very comfortable. The washroom was on the small side but adequate. The breakfast was quite good as well. The two issues we had were the room was on the warm side and we could not get it any cooler. But the worst part was the internet, it was very slow or did not load at all. We asked front desk and they said to call the company. We called them twice but it didn't help that much. This was frustrating, especially for our teenage sons. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel. It is good quality for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank maryvV4267GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

I am glad to hear overall your stay was a good experience, but I am sorry to hear about your internet issues. Not typically a problem we face so I will be following up with our provider. Although we were experiencing much higher than normal usage at peak times due to the large volume of young athletes and families in town for the Lacrosse Tournament. I assure you the issue will be investigated and addressed as I do know the importance of a good connection for all of our guests, I appreciate you bringing to my attention.

Steve Morris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Near the train, clean, good breakfast, fridge in room , great staff, comfort, everything was fine and at a good price, we will be coming back for sure. Better park at the hotel and go walking for the train best choice to go in downtown Toronto, only one hour away by Go train to Union station

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nancygE9280KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Glad to hear you had a great stay, look forward to hosting you again soon. Always a great choice if you can avoid driving right into the city, avoid all that traffic and stress by stopping before highway gets to busy. A relaxing train ride and an hour later in the heart of downtown Toronto and all sporting events.

Steve Morris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This property is no frills but decent. Just stayed here with my kids for our lacrosse tournament. There isn't a pool and our room didn't have a working heater. (I know being August and all...I wasn't feeling well and wanted some heat. I also tried to dry my son's lacrosse gear and it ended up soaking wet - the drip tray was full)
The location was good - near 401. The included breakfast was atrocious. I've have to assume the hotel buys the items precooked then reheats them. Even the cottage cheese/yogurt was tepid.
No pool - but they did have a basketball court. That was pretty cool. They also had a small courtyard with bbq . Free WiFi connection was terrible.
If I had a choice though - I probably would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent experience during the always busy Lacrosse tournament, glad to hear the location worked well and the kids enjoyed the basketball court. I do apologize about the heat it is turned off during the Summer months, but can be reactivated for a guest if requested. I am disappointed to hear we were not able to exceed your expectations with breakfast as we typically do offering a wide variety of fresh hot and cold items to suit all our guests tastes.

I hope your son had a successful tournament.

Regards


Steve Morris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

we appreciate your hospitality and need you at a time when our age and health is getting less interesting. we like Oshawa and wanted to see more but it is practical to stay off the 401,my husband and I.Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mpastuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Quality Suites
#3 of 7 in Whitby
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 559 Bloor St W, Oshawa, Ontario L1J 5Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price Range: €56 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Oshawa
Oshawa Best Western
Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre Oshawa, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing