We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old and tired, a lot of smoke” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Ottawa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old and tired, a lot of smoke”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We requested a non-smoking room but were given a room that smelled from decades of stale smoke. Even walking through the hallway in the smoking section made it difficult to breath. After waiting and insisting, we were able to get a non-smoking room in a non-smoking section of the hotel.


This hotel is at least 40 years old. There are many bulges in the walls caused by concrete spalling. The furniture in the room was at least 20 years old. If you just want a cheap place to sleep and can get the place for less than $70 it is a fair value, but if you are sensitive to smoke, make sure you get a non-smoking room in a non-smoking part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Wide spread smoke smell in non-smoking areas of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    67
    56
    32
    20
See reviews for
66
58
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I booked into the Best Western Durham Hotel and Conference Centre not knowing what and which hotels/motels were good in this region.

From day one, they are kind, courtious and extremely helpful! They made me feel at home during a very confusing relocation to this area. The rooms were always clean and the services were beyond expectations. The rooms were being re-done and only once did I have a room that was not up to their usual standards. Although the room was in disrepair, it was sparklng clean - that is what truly counts! I wish to thank the General Manager and all of the employees who went out of their way to make my stay(s) great.

Rod Lightheart

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor - they are newer and closer to the front desk - also earier with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. If you're in Oshawa, you absolutely must stay here. Every Wednesday there is a homecooked meal, the manager Adam is excellent, and his wife makes the best chili you'll ever have at a hotel. Don't bother shopping around, because this is the hotel you should stay at tonight.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerOVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Like another hotel guest said, we believe this hotel has been falsely rated. It's the worst hotel we have ever stayed. First off the halls were not vacuumed and smelled very musty. In the room the bedspread was stained, the curtains were severely ripped. The sheets did not appear fresh (wrinkled) The carpet was also badly stained. The wood inside of the door frame looked as if somone had at some time busted the door open. The door to the bathroom would not close. Around the tub there was black mold. At breakfast the next morning the bagels were incredibly stale, so instead we decided to have waffles until we lifted the lid and saw the old dried batter. The food attendant thinking we wanted waffles tried to unclog the dispenser. The very worst was in the evening when it started getting cool outside and we tried every which way to turn up the heat and couldn't. The fan and heating panel was very rusty, and the controls did not work. Went to the front dest and asked for help to which we were told "the staff has to flip a switch to your room so you can have heat". That was certainly the icing of the cake, because never in all our hotel stays did we ever have to ask for heat to our room. On the positive side the staff seemed friendly enough, however not enough for us to ever stay there again. This hotel has definetely been falsly rated. After checking out we stopped in at the Comfort Inn next door and asked to see a room because we have to go back to Oshawa for an appointment in couple of weeks. From a quick observation the halls looked and smelled okay and the bathroom in the room we checked was sparkling clean. We will give Comfort Inn our business next time.

Room Tip: Have a gool look at the hallways and the room before you decide to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter19691950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwoshawa, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Valued Guest, we apologize that your recent stay at our hotel was not the experience that you should have had, an excellent one in other words. All of your comments have been addressed with the team and we are addressing them accordingly to ensure that your next visit would be much more pleasant and enjoyable. Please contact me directly at 905 723 5271 and we can further discuss.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oshawa hotels

Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stay at this property almost weekly for work. I have never had bugs in my room and I have stayed there all summer. The staff and the General Manager are always friendly and go above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. Vaughan and Adam always remember what I like and when ever I see them stop to chat and remember details about me personally. I stay here even when my job site is closer to another hotel because the service and the beds are the best.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattersingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 559 Bloor Street W, Oshawa, Ontario L1J 5Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Oshawa
Oshawa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre Oshawa, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing