We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We booked for one night during our touring holiday and loved it so much we stayed an extra night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Annette Twining House
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We booked for one night during our touring holiday and loved it so much we stayed an extra night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We booked for one night during our touring holiday and loved it so much we stayed an extra night. ....We even debated about cancelling all our other plans and staying there for the duration of our trip!
This is one of the very nicest places I have ever stayed ANYWHERE! Our room was so comfortable, the breakfasts five star standard, the owners wonderfully friendly, helpful and accommodating. A stunning garden to sit in and very convenient for all aspects of Niagara on the Lake and the surrounding area.

I cannot speak highly enough of this guest house and intend to return for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    6
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

My wife and I, along with a friend, spent 5 nights at the Annette Twining House - circa 1818. It was a very comfortable and enjoyable experiene. Annette and Michael were wonderful hosts - from having the NY Times available at breafast to providing an early breakfast so we could make our return flights on the last morning. Speaking of breakfasts. Annette provided truly delicious and varied breakfasts that we all enjoyed. We will be returning

Room Tip: Suite 2 has a walk out deck,that added to the reln
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

The title says it all. This was our third stay in four years at the Annette Twining House. You just get that feeling that running a Bed & Breakfast is a “calling” for Annette and Michael. They know how to make you feel at home without overdoing it, with a somewhat casual approach and all the while every detail is being looked after without making anyone take notice it's being done (something hard to do, but they make it look easy). We have stayed in two different rooms and both were very comfortable and nicely furnished. On our arrival, we had a vase of fresh lilacs from the garden in our room.

Annette serves a wonderful multiple course breakfast each morning using fresh local produce, typically including both something savory and something sweet. Annette makes a point to ask about dietary requirements and is very accommodating. Michael and Annette also seem to have a knack for attracting interesting guests, and many are returning guests. On each of our trips, we have met interesting people from around the world. So the conversation at the breakfast table is always stimulating and entertaining at the same time.

Annette also keeps track of the local restaurant scene. Her recommendations have always been good. On the last two visits, she was also gracious enough to make our dinner reservations for the first evening prior to our arrival, as some of the more popular restaurants book up quickly.

Oh, and if you happen to not be a dog lover, don’t worry about Sadie and Louie. They are very well trained. Sadie is older and very “low key”. Louie is a little more energetic but has never annoyed me (and poorly trained dogs do annoy me).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamaManMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

The Annette Twining house was the perfect base from which to propose marriage to my girlfriend. Annette, Mike and their lovely dogs are the perfect hosts, unobtrusive yet providing knowledgeable advice when needed and ensuring stimulating breakfast conversation.

Annette arranged for a horse-and-carriage ride and for flowers in our room. We had one of the smaller rooms, but in reality it was very large and had a very comfortable four-poster bed.

The breakfast was a luxuriant, three-course affair, starting with fruit salad, followed by a savoury course (such as Canadian bacon, eggs and asparagus) and finishing with a sweet course (such as crepes).

Niagara-on-the-lake is a fantastic location. The town is very quaint, and has a great deal of interesting history. It is definitely worth visiting Fort George, a battleground during the War of 1812. The fort is largely reconstructed, but the characters in costume make a real effort, and the musket and cooking demonstrations (excellent cakes) are good fun.

Dining in town is good but expensive. We had a wonderful meal at the Charles Inn.

Of course, Niagara Falls is close at hand. The Maid of the Mist is strongly recommended and doesn't actually cost too much, especially from the US side.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robertofnorthwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

the King George suite was magical. The hosts went above and beyond hospitable....even had warm pie for a bedtime snack after a day of shopping. Wonderful food....wonderful environment...wonderful people. My best b&b experience ever!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 km away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#36 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 km away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#73 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 km away
Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakfast
Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakf...
#88 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
St. Andrews House Bed & Breakfast
St. Andrews House Bed & Breakfas...
#84 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#74 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 km away
The Georgian Residence Luxury Boutique Suites
The Georgian Residence Luxury Bo...
#1 of 18 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annette Twining House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annette Twining House

Property: Annette Twining House
Address: 118 Johnson Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1JO, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Annette Twining House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Annette Twining House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing