We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$390
US$326
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$272
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$456
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Landing Inn(Queenston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$280
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$419
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blairpen House Country Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Charlottetown House Bed & Breakfast(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argus House(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveller rating
1,058
151
46
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,058
151
46
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseshuttle servicecovered parkingeuropean breakfastevery afternoonhoneymoon suitesmoked salmoncasserolemy husband and iriver viewpersonalized stationaryboutique hotelcomplimentary shuttlehot dishgas fireplacewhirlpool tubseparate shower
Filter
Updating list...
984 - 989 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We are a family with a baby under one years of age and thought a relaxing trip to Niagara on the Lake would be a nice getaway. Well, The Harbour House turned out to be a lovely part of our wonderful vacation. The hotel surpassed our expectations and although managing meals for the baby without a mini fridge in the room was a slight inconvenience, the staff was more than pleasant about storing and fetching our baby's food.
The rooms were clean, location was great, playpen/crib was already set up in the room upon arrival, little details from personalized stationary, to delicious breakfast and friendly wait for afternoon wines and cheeses, fresh apples, complimentary DVD library, we could go on and on...
The extra dollar is in the details, would recommend it and we have!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esther24kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I booked the Harbour House last minute as a guest for a long weekend wedding in the area . Biting the bullet I felt at first that we were paying too much. The staff were gracious and welcomed our young daughter - with a kind note wishing her a happy birthday and a cake in a jar with a candle taped under the lid. The DVDs were complimentary and plentiful - important when travelling with children. She loved the double jacuzzi in the room and tv. in the bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful. Fresh, home-made and healthy. The experience was unusually serene, warm, welcoming and worth every penny. A Five Star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A nice little getaway but pricey in a very over priced town. Room was nice with great bedding but the carpet needed cleaning. we were in a side room that had only a little view of the marina across the street. I hate air conditioning and found i could open the windows,but only an inch. Breakfast was great and everything is within walking distance. Staff was friendly, the clientele seem to be older and it is right near the Jet Boat entrance but u could not hear a thing! a good place for a special occasion. Oh great chocolate chio cookies on arrival!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbettyrrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This hotel is rated as the number 1 hotel in Niagara on the Lake. Considering there are many five star hotels, this is some accolade. My wife and I had visited Niagara on the Lake a couple of times and fell in love with the place so we decided it would be lovely to get married there. We wanted a small ceremony and spent several days visiting all of the best hotels in the town to find a suitable place for the ceremony, and then obviously we wanted the best room we could find for our wedding night.

Having viewed the Honeymoon suites in every hotel in town, the one at the Harbour House was the one that blew us away. It was a beautiful room, a large comfortable bed and lovely fireplace, with a stunning bathroom with large whirlpool bath, separate shower and a lovely view over the river. Accordingly this is the one that we picked.

Unlike most five star hotels, this hotel has no swimming pool, no gym, no restaurant and very few facilities at all. However, what this hotel does offer is a very cosy place to stay and it really is like staying with an old friend (albeit an old friend who has serious amounts of money and taste!). Guests are made to feel like guests in the truest sense of the word, rather than just paying punters like in most other hotels.

The reception area is like a lovely lounge in a country retreat, with nice comfy chairs around an open fire. There are a selection of books on the shelves and a large selection of DVDs which you may take as you please to watch on the DVD player that each room has. Each afternoon guests are invited to sample some local wine and cheese in the reception area, which is a really nice touch.

All of the staff are so friendly, yet not-over friendly. They are polite, professional, courteous and make you feel as though nothing is too much trouble. They are all genuinely welcoming and I got the impression that even if they weren’t being paid to work there, they would probably come in anyway just because they enjoy being there.

We checked in early and so our room wasn’t quite ready. However, upon arrival we were given some freshly baked cookies and a cup of coffee, all for free, whilst we waited. It’s little touches like this that really set this hotel apart from pretty much every other hotel I’ve ever stayed in. In many ways it is more like the best English style B&B in the world, and whilst it is not cheap, I think it has the character and charm that most larger/chain hotels lack.

As I said earlier, there is no restaurant and there is no pool/gym etc but unless you really need these facilities then don’t let that put you off. They have partnerships with the Shaw Club and the Charles Inn where you can enjoy a spa or a fine meal, both of which are within walking distance.

There is however a breakfast room, where a simple breakfast is laid out every morning. It is an interesting mix of a continental breakfast and cakes and sweet pastries. The breakfast room had a lovely atmosphere and although it was busy and clearly almost at full capacity, the room was quiet and we felt that the staff really treated us as though we were VIPs.

Having stayed in the Pillar and Post, and visited the Prince of Wales, The Queen’s Landing, Shaw Club, and the Charles Inn (which make up the rest of the top 6 hotels in the area), I can say with confidence that in my view the Harbour House is miles better than all of them.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJOfford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Booked this hotel with great anticipation through expedia. Called the property in advance to assure availability which was confirmed by hotel staff. Proceeded to book and confirm on line. Received confirmation and credit card was charged. Proceeded to book and make other plans for activities while in the area. When we arrived at the hotel we where informed that expedia had overbooked us and they had no rooms. Feeling vulnerable to the circumstance as we had travelled a long distance and had made deposits and booked other events that were subject to cancellation charges we were compelled to take alternate accommodation in a related property. Appreciating that staff had tried to provide a suitable remedy we agreed. Whole experience dampened or plans and enthusiasm. Will not likely attempt to return to an ontario finest inn property. Love expedia and have never had this experience before this hotel chain seems to use the conditions of booking to fill vacancies in there less desirable and cheaper properties. Had found the property through expedia and relied on the reviews and ratings by them. This company clearly does not honor the business partnership they have with expedia.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
8  Thank sceezicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews