We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Very accommodating hotel in quaint town in the wine area. If you want a get-away weekend with wine tasting experience in the Niagara area, visit this town and stay at this hotel. Boutique hotel had a wonderful, comfortable ambiance and management did all they could to enhance your experience. Not only did they make dining reservations, they shuttled us to and from the eatery so no worries about parking or drinking and driving. Complimentary happy hour with ordevours was a nice touch. Rooms are a bit small, but very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast very good.

Room Tip: View of the harbour provides a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 763 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

For over 20 years we have stayed in different inns in NOTL.
Last week we spent the night at harbour house and enjoyed it a lot.
We were greeted warmly upon entering.
, and shown to our room, which was large, comfortable with a small view if the water. The only negative- was the tv didn't work well.
At 4 pm , there is complimentary wine and cheese.
We were given as part of our package a $50 coupon to the Charles inn for dinner.
It was a cosy historic home that served wonderful food. On our return to the inn, there were warm, freshly baked cookies in the lobby, which we brought to our room.
The next morning, an included breakfast was served in a lovely room , in the inn.
We often visit the area in the summer and fall to attend the Plays , so Harbour house is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was our 4th time staying at the Harbour House Hotel, and just as we expected, it was awesome!

If your looking for a more detailed review of the hotel you can read our previous review as everything was exactly how we remembered it!

What we wanted to point out this time was the excellent service that we received upon checking in. Shortly after getting settled in our room, we began to hear a loud noise from the bathroom area. A quick check revealed that something was wrong with the toilet and that it was constantly emptying a refilling.

On our way out for a few hours downtown, we advised staff at the front desk of the problem and they assured us that they would have some one check it out.

Upon returning we were advised that the room had been looked at and the problem had been solved. Unfortunately, after entering the room, we heard the same noise again.

A quick trip back to the front desk, about a minute wait, and we were moved to the room next door...which just happened to be an upgrade to a suite! Needless to say, we were very appreciative of the quick, and upgraded resolution to the problem with the room. We stayed in the upgraded room for the duration of the trip at no extra charge, even after noticing the following day that a plumber at attended the room and rectified the issue.

Thank you too the staff at the Harbour House for making our 4th stay a memorable one. We look forwarded to returning next year to celebrate our 4th Anniversary :)

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms on the second floor have nice carpeted floors. The Superior Suite we stayed in, 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We have stayed at many places in NOTL and while all were fine, this place is the best by far. Best value (good off-season rate through SniqueAway), great location (nice view of the river), wonderful rooms with comfy beds, fireplaces, lots of space, etc. Staff is fantastic. The ongoing book of reviews in each room is just one of many nice, unique touches (love the rubber duck!). We will check out their sister properties: the Charles Inn and Shaw Club. Lovely town, the best part of Niagara region, especially in Autumn and Spring when it is less busy than tourist season. There were some minor glitches that were dealt with immediately, and the room for us was a bit too warm but we opened the window and were okay. "Happy Hour" is a great opportunity to meet new friends!

Room Tip: We had a standard ("premium") room with a good view of the river. Plenty large enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateKewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We wanted a relaxing weekend getaway and that's exactly what we got at Harbour House. From the delicious welcome cookies to the comfortable room to the tasty breakfast, we felt very taken care of. It feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel, and I mean that in the best possible way. Would definitely recommend and come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
0.5 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,844 reviews
0.4 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,610 reviews
1.3 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,174 reviews
0.9 km away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: €142 - €326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing