We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually stayed overnight”
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I couldn't find on TripAdvisor the listing of the Olde Angel Inn as a hotel but my review will be based on our stay!
Myself and 2 friends stayed in the 2 double bed Governor Suite at a very reasonable rate for Niagara on the Lake and on a Saturday night! The room was "spooky" and charming as we expected - very rustic but clean.

Yes, the awesome bar rocks out with live bands every weekend until 12:30am and we also knew that going in - so we were down in the bar! The one recommendation I would make is having some type of mechanism to have Angel Inn occupants have preferred entrance to the bar and not have to wait in the long lines outside to get in. The staff were accommodating to us but just something to think about!

Otherwise, the front desk staff was amazing and really went out of the way for us (even dropping us off at a winery event b/c we were running late and couldn't get a cab!)

I would definitely stay here again - just need an adventurous open-mind! Not for families with children.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank HeatherJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi HeatherJ22,

Thanks for taking the time to write a great review for us! We appreciate your comments and feedback and hope to see you next time you're in the area!

Kaitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 450 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

This is an excellent place to get a quick meal. The food is well prepared and service is fine. Be sure to get a beer, too, as they have an excellent selection of very good brews. It's a popular place with lots of people in a not very large space, so be prepared for a noisy atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank pvny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi Pvny,

Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your overall time at the Olde Angel Inn and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Kaitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Great food at a good value. We had a party of eleven (11) and everyone enjoyed their meal. Service was excellent.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi Christine B,

Thanks for the review! Large parties are always fun and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Kaitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Strolled over from the hotel for dinner. Awesome beer menu and a meal straight out of U.K. I opted for shepherds pie and my friend had the Guinness steak and onion pie....huge portions and cooked to perfection. The server was pleasant and on the ball. Well done !

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank judedude79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Judedude79,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review! the Shepherds Pie and Guinness Steak and Onion pie are some of our most popular dishes! :)

Hope to see you back soon!

Cheers,
Ashley
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We enjoyed the Shepard's Pie so much we went back for a second night! The craft beer and local wines were a wonderful addition to the dinner menu!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Molly S,

Glad to hear how much you loved the Shepards Pie! Be sure to check out our guest taps next time you are in town!! :)

Cheers,
Ashley
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing