We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Amarula House is the special B&B we like to come back to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amarula House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarula House
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“The Amarula House is the special B&B we like to come back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Ten reasons “Why we love Amarula house”:
1. there are always good conversations to be had…
2. Lyn is very friendly and welcoming
3. the food is fantastic…
4. and there is always LOTS of it
5. it’s like no other B&B we’ve been to
6. the rooms are separate from the family living quarters…
7. and they are very clean!
8. it’s a block away from the main street
9. mandolin players are welcome
10. we’d recommend it to everyone without hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Northerners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

What do you need to make a great B&B - clean, comfortable rooms not over decorated with clutter - check. Clean bathroom with lots of hot water - check. Soft sheets, firm pillows - check. Wonderful decorations with just the right amount of Africa - check. Wonderful hostess with great stories - check. Breakfast for both a carnivore and a vegan that were plentiful, hot and delicious - check. Close to the scene, but far enough away you don't get all the noise - check. We've stayed in over 20 B&Bs over the years and the Amarula House moves into our top 5 with no problem. We plan on going back next year and staying with Lynn and bringing friends and family with us this time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasYankeeRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

This three bedroom B& B was the perfect accomodation for three couples who travelled to Niagara On The Lake for a weekend of shopping, golfing, visiting wineries and going to the theatre. The rooms are large, tastefuly decorated and comfortable. Each room included a modern en suite as well as a bar refrigerator. The common area for guests includes a sitting room, a balcony as well as a breakfast room. Breakfast each morning was delicious, featuring home made baked goods as well as eggs. The host and hostess, Lynette and Dean were welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful in planning events or making suggestions to enhance your holiday. A truly wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mst256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Perfect in every way. Location, friendliness, cleanliness,quality of linens,matress,food,hospitality. I can't say enough about the place - and I am a bit picky. I like "nice" and we got it here. I rate it a 10 out of 10. We had three couples - so we had the whole place booked for ourselves. Having the living room to use for all six of us to sit and chat was perfect. We could leave our wine and snacks out in the livingroom for the next day and Lyn even washed our stuff too as well as the wine glasses. They are the greatest hosts and it was very interesting learning about their homeland.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PtboCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

My two girlfriends and I have been visiting Niagara on the Lake for the Shaw festival, for many years. The last three years, we've stayed at Amarula House, a delightful B&B just one block from the main street. We highly recommend it. The decor is attractive and different from the common B&B "chintz and faux Victorian (the owners emigrated from South Africa and the house is decorated with things that are evocative of their former home)". Lynn's breakfasts are excellent and different each day, and she remembers one's personal likes and dislikes. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the rooms are made up daily, not always the case with B&B's. The owners are very accommodating and happy to help one get reservations or choose plays. There is a swimming pool and good off- street parking. We plan to make Amarula House our regular base whenever we are in NOTL.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 km away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#71 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 km away
Luisa's Suite Retreat
Luisa's Suite Retreat
#90 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 km away
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.0 km away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#74 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 km away
The Historic Pacific
The Historic Pacific
#118 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarula House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarula House

Property: Amarula House
Address: 79 Johnson Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing