We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$101
US$84
View deal
SAVE US$17
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Hotels.comUS$88
PricelineUS$88
Prestigia.comUS$101
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,953)
Filter reviews
3,953 results
Traveller rating
1,702
1,536
459
156
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,702
1,536
459
156
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree warm cookies aveda spa clifton hill nice hotel beautiful lobby skylon tower great view within walking distance river view hot tub other hotels nice pool breakfast buffet parking fee canadian side floor room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,953 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

We had been staying at the Fallsview Marriott for a few days and decided to extend our stay in Niagara Falls but to try a new hotel. We had noticed how nice the Doubletree looks from the outside on one of our walks, and I had stayed there about 12 years ago and remembered being so impressed by the gorgeous lobby. Quick online search later, we were booked... the deals are incredible right now for hotels in Niagara! I found a lower floor, city view at $83/night and we were upgraded on arrival to a “fallsview” on the 8th floor.

Overall I was super impressed...
The service especially blew me away. After I made my online reservation I was contacted by text by the hotel, and I asked if we could possibly arrive early that morning as we were just moving between hotels on Fallsview blvd, they said no problem :)
As I mentioned we were slightly upgraded, from having stayed there already IMO the Fallsview rooms are not super worth it because there is no real view of the falls from this hotel.
But that would be my *only* negative with this place.
Shortly after checking into our room I was contacted again by text by guests services asking if the room was to our satisfaction, I asked for a couple more coffee pods and they sent up about a dozen within minutes!
Awesome service ⭐️
Coffee pods, but what for you might ask?? Yep, we were so excited there was a coffee maker in the room!! ((The coffee maker has been removed from the room at the Marriott (just one more measure I don’t get, but let’s move on...) and since we are early risers, it was quite the drag to wait for the lobby Starbucks to open at 7am.))
The room was cleaner than the one we had at the Marriott IMO, with everything sanitized and sealed, even the tv remote.
As with the Marriott, no daily housekeeping BUT at the Doubletree you can actually request for the maid if you want (we did not).
The bathroom was small in our standard room, but extremely clean and had Crabtree and Evelyn amenities (love!).
The bed was very comfortable... large closet with a safe inside... 37” flat screen tv with lots of channels!

I would absolutely go back to this hotel. We are avid walkers and the distance to Clifton Hill was about a 10/15 walk - closer than the Marriott. The only downside is that you will not get the spectacular view of the falls some of the other hotels get, but the prices and Guests Service staff really exceeded my expectations!

Date of stay: October 2020
1  Thank 999amelieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 November 2020

WOW! Thank you for the AWESOME review of your recent stay. We are so happy to see you enjoyed your visit and sincerely appreciate the reference to our friendly service, convenient location, cleanliness, extra cleaning protocols and comfortable beds. Your comments will be so helpful to others travelling to Niagara Falls. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

Overall an ok experience only because they moved us quickly. Although our room had a Covid sanitization sticker on the door indicating it was deep cleaned. I wiped down or for handles on arrival and telephone to see it was dirty.
We didn't even unpack. Went back to the front desk and they quickly relocated us.
Speachless, you would think they would be double and triple checking and cleaning hi touch areas!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MuchLovefromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 October 2020

We appreciate all feedback, including areas of opportunity. We have circled back to your stay and see that the Manager on Duty addressed your concerns immediately and thank you for noting the quick response. As referenced, the seal was on the door and therefore housekeeping had not entered the room once it had been sanitized. Dust will settle after we leave the room and therefore accumulate if the room is not rented for a couple of days. We are so sorry for the initial impression upon entering your first room. Your concerns had been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper for further inspection and to prevent future reocurrence. We sincerely appreciate your patience and understanding while we addressed your concerns. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to correct the situation. We hope you will visit us again on a future trip to Niagara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

we stayed at the Hilton Double Tree on the 3rd week of August for two nights. We booked two rooms and it was good. Location was very convenient and they don't charge tourist tax unlike some of the hotels in the area. The hotel implemented on site mask and provided hand sanitizer to minimize the risk of spreading covid. We felt safe when we went.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 391theresac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020

We ate supper here on an earlier trip and were impressed with the ambience of the hotel. We thought we would give it a try. All Covid 19 protocols were being followed carefully and we had no safety concerns. Check in and check out were relatively easy and quick processes. If we needed anything, we texted the front desk and received very prompt responses. Our room was comfortable and stylish. Best of all, we had a superb view of the river and the American Falls.

Room tip: Request a room on a higher level. It's worth the extra money to have a river/falls view room.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to let other travellers know of your positive experience. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and reference to easy check in and check out, comfortable guestroom and great view of the U.S. Falls. We hope you will have the chance to visit us again on a future trip to Niagara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

We took the suite with the pullout coutch bed on the 10th floor. Five of us sleeping there. At first it was fine, we loved the space we got as we were staying there for four nights and the corner view was pretty cool. But second day we started to smell dampness every time we walked back in. The bathroom is outdated and needs a major face lift judging from the smell of moisture. Also the air conditioning was not powerful enough for the whole room I had the temperature down at 16,5 degrees Celsius and we still did not use covers.

Also COVID seems to be an excuse to slack on service... that was my major down point. We asked for towels, I had to call back because they were not delivered, we requested help with a cab that never came and with 3 kids we needed the bathroom lightly cleaned and it did not happen. It was very disappointing when you know you are in a 4 star hotel.

For the same price I would try the Ramada or the Marriott next time...

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Erishkigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and bring your concerns to our attention. We are so sorry for any issues you encountered while staying with us and wish you had made us aware at the time. We are always available to bring extra amenities at any time of the day. We apologize for the fact that you did not receive your towels and it would have been an error on our part in delivery. Although hotels globally do not provide standard stayover service due to Covid -19 we definitely provide amenities as requested and we are so sorry for any shortcomings on our part. We have forwarded your comments regarding the dampness in the room on to our housekeeping and maintenance teams for further investigation. Thank you again for making us aware. We hope you will consider visiting us again on a future trip to Niagara. We are continually upgrading our facilities to provide a great experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews