We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and easy.”
Review of HI- Niagara Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HI- Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I was backpacking across the USA with my younger brother and we stayed here when we went to see the Falls. It's very friendly, and about a 10 minute walk from Niagara Falls. Our check-in was pretty simple, and the staff are very friendly.
It has a Youth Hostel vibe to it - everyone was about our age (I'm 22 and my brother is 18) or younger (international trips).
We were in a dorm that slept 4 (two bunk beds) and they had lockers to keep your bags in. The bathrooms were further down the corridor, and very clean.
We headed down to see the Falls lit up at night, and I wasn't sure how safe the neighbourhood was for us to walk back through at night (mainly because as we walked to the hostel to check in, a lot of houses were derelict) but the lady at reception assured us it was fine, which it was.
There was breakfast things available the next morning (tea, cereal, toast etc) and towels too. I'd recommend staying here, ideal for backpackers!

Room Tip: Ideal for backpackers
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for HI- Niagara Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

The HI hostel in Niagara Falls is one of the coziest youth hostels I have ever stayed in. Currently, six- and four-bed dorm rooms as well as private rooms are available but as of spring 2017 an additional eight-bed dorm will be available, too.
Everything in the hostel is very clean and tidy and all the rooms are equipped with air condition systems. Combined with a spacious dining room, there is a well equipped kitchen with several cooking and baking facilities and two big fridges. The team is trying to improve the place constantly and really seem to care about their guests experiences. This winter, a new fireplace was built in the basement which makes the common area even more enjoyable - the whole year round! Furthermore, there are a pool and a foosball table, a huge TV including a comprehensive DVD collection and a even a cross trainer available downstairs so that it will never get boring, even on rainy days.
By the way, I can only recommend to visit the Niagara Falls in winter, too. It is a unique experience to see the falls surrounded by ice and snow and the areas around all the tourist attractions are not as crowded as in summer.
Especially the staff and the owner of the hostel always do their best to make their guests' stays as comfortable as possible, give all the necessary information for your visit and friendly answer every other upcoming question.
Thank you for everything and all the best - I had a great time!

Room Tip: The private rooms are very comfortable, cozy and nicely done up!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patzschinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I've been in this hostel for two nights.
Everything was super clean, the kitchen is very big, clean and organized.
They have a spacious garden, wonderful for the summer time.
The owner e receptionist guys are so kind and friendly.
Definitely a nice stay!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel is incredibly clean, and while it isn't right in the heart of the action, it's only about a 35 minute walk to the falls. The kitchen is very large and well equipped. Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast and apples. The basement was excellent, a big pile of beanbag chairs, television, fireplace, pool table and foosball table. And the parking was free.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

it was a last-minute booking and the overall experience was great -thanks to Massimo (if I remember his name correctly) who checked us in late on the evening {and please double check that you arrive during opening hours as there's no one working the night shift}-
the inn/hostel is far enough from the actual falls not to be disturbed by them. the place is charming - the location can be creepy at night but very pleasant once the sun start rising.
over the course of our trip, this 'forced' stop was the only one we spent sharing a bedroom with other peeps. breakfast is included (because you kinda pay for it anyway) but always appreciated !!! access to internet either on wifi or on the computer is free.

be aware that for whatever reason if you can't pay with your card, there's no cash machine at the inn, so bare in mind to get cash beforehand.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elvis27Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.3 km away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
3.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
3.7 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
2.6 km away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#41 of 128 in Niagara Falls
415 reviews
1.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI- Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI- Niagara Falls

Address: 4549 Cataract Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Niagara Falls
Price Range: €22 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI- Niagara Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your HI- Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing