We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Place...”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

After searching for days I finally decided to go to this hotel because the great price and it's located so close to everything. Great staff they were extremely friendly and helpful. The place is very clean you can't find anything wrong with it... Can't wait to come back again.!!.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 456Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We are happy to hear that we could fit the bill for your accomodation needs. We appreciate hearing the positve comments from our satisfied guests and look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls as your destination choice while in the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    863
    489
    130
    164
See reviews for
963
931
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rodman, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here during February break. The room was large enough and fairly clean. Nothing fantastic but a nice room for the price. One of my main reasons for choosing this room over others in the area was the indoor pool with the slide and the hot tub. The website didn't mention that the pool had a weight restiction of less than 90 lbs. so my kids 12 and 15 were out of luck. The pool area was a little dirty but the kids didn't notice. The hot tub was ok but there were spots where tiles were coming off. The staff were great very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. My husband even forgot his razor and they provided him with a few disposable ones and some shaving cream.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Denny's next door. Very overpriced and bad service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilld479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments of our property and staff. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay overall. Your concerns have been noted and brought to the department managers attention. We appreciate our guests letting us know where we may improve our service. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson as your choice of destination, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My 11 year old son and I decided to get away for a night. We stayed in this hotel a few years ago, and decided to again.
Location was good. Close to Clifton Hill, and many Restaurants, (Denny, Montanas, TGiF, The Keg, Wild Wings and MANY MORE)
Check in was good, and not long of a wait. 5 to 10 mins tops.
We arrived in the room, and it was ok. We were in the King/Jacuzzi/Fireplace room. The room was clean. Overall cleanliness of room was a 9/10. It wasnt overly fancy, but was ok.
We would stay at this hotel again.
The price was right too. Good deal.

The only negative, was the WIFI. It didnt work all night. I asked about it at the front desk, and I was told they were maybe having trouble. They werent to helpful with this.
I called the fron desk later in the night, and the person that answered wasnt the nicest. I told him that we liked the room but we needed WiFi and picked this hotel cause they had free WiFi. He told me, ALL hotels have WiFi, in a rude way. NOT COOL.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TODDnGABRIEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We appreciate the information and your point of view. We are always happy to hear that our guests are lookig to return. I am sorry that you had an issue with the complimentary WIFI and that the response from the staff was not positive, this will be addressed with the department manager. We value our guests perspective and hope that you will continue your patronage of Howard Johnson. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I were given a weekend away for Christmas for Jan 13 and 14. Due to weather concerns we didn't get to go on the 13th but did make it early on the 14th. From the moment we got there we had a great time albeit a very cold one.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The Denny's in both convenient and the food good and the staff friendly. As people have stated previously, you can pretty much walk to anything but we opted for the shuttle bus.
All in all a very nice weekend. We are planning to do a family trip this Summer and we will be staying at this hotel for sure.
Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We are happy to hear that your experience at our Hotel was so positive. Thank you for the comments and the praise. I will gladly pass on your praise to the staff, we do try to make the guest stay a memorable experience. We look forward to having you stay with us when the warmer weather is here in the summer. Thank you for your patronage of Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here one night the room was very clean the price was very good, one of the cleanest bathrooms I have seen in a hotel, and liked having the food court in the lobby and the Dennys next door.The location is excellent for our visits and located close to the attractions we like to frequent,

Im not sure how parking would be in the Busy season as they share a parking lot with Dennys and when we went there wasnt much parking spaces available but we did find a spot.
The pool hours are good, and the Wifi was great. Being very close to the tourist area of Clifton Hill and Victoria Ave the rooms were quiet in the night time.Beds and pillows really comfortable.

Our main reason to be there was to check out the pet friendly policy and we have a dog that is 17 inches tall ,well trained and quiet. She is crate trained and used to travelling, we didnt have her with us but was hoping to stay in The Howard Johnson the next stay as we stay in the falls 2-3 times during the off season, Unfortunatley our Shetland Sheep dog is over the 25pound weight restriction so we will not be staying at this hotel again.It is unfortunate as we really liked this hotel but need to find a pet friendly place that takes medium sized dogs.

I was surprised that the manager takes time to read and reply to most of the posting on here most establishments dont

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trcy8116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your praise of our property. We are always happy to hear when we have happy guests enjoying their stay. I am sorry that we would be unable to accomodate you family pet as it does not meet with Hotel pet policy. The policy is set to acommodate all guests and some are not comfortable with larger dogs no matter how docile the breed. We appreciate your comments and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#31 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#38 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing