We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vegan offerings”
Review of Mattson & Co

Mattson & Co
Ranked #8 of 1,490 Restaurants in Hamilton
Description: Mattson & Co. is an elegant restaurant and jazz lounge located on a busy corner in Hamilton's west end, overlooking the bustling and trendy Locke Street.
Restaurant details
Description: Mattson & Co. is an elegant restaurant and jazz lounge located on a busy corner in Hamilton's west end, overlooking the bustling and trendy Locke Street.
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We experienced very attentive service and loved our patio dining on the corner of a trendy and bustling street. The best part of our experience though were the variety of food offerings, especially for our vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free friends. Their cauliflower burger and Mac and "cheese" was an incredible blend of flavours and textures. An excellent burger for the summer months for all eaters!

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsonFamily, Manager at Mattson & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for your kind words, Laura! We are so glad you were able to score a spot on our beautiful patio and that you enjoyed your meals. Thank you especially for noting our efforts to provide a variety of fresh and delicious offerings for our vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free guests, this is something we are very proud of because we believe all of our guests deserve a great meal when they dine with us. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018

I was impressed by the service more than anything at this establishment. The food was good, and venue was nice, but more than anything it was the quick efficiency of the wait staff that impressed me.
My recommendation? The steak! Well seasoned and reasonably priced, this is a great little spot that we will certainly be visiting again.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank ThirstyTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsonFamily, Manager at Mattson & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, ThirstyTraveller88! We are glad you joined us and couldn't agree more that our Beef Tenderloin is always a great options. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

They handed me a card when I left, asking me to review them on tripadvisor.ca. My share of our group's dining was $64 for a Caesar's salad, halibut Lyonnaise, and the key lime dessert.

* The salad was billed as "authentic," which makes it sound like everyone else's is somehow "fake." I enjoyed it, but nothing about it was at all spectacular or different.

* The halibut was the first fillet I've ever had at a restaurant that was overdone to the point of being tough to cut with a fork. The crusty stuff they smeared on top of it was bland, and the sauce rather nondescript -- no tang, no zip, no fresh herbs discernable. The best-tasting bite I had was from the edge that had nothing added to it.

* The key lime dessert had a vibrant frozen lime custard, but the crust at the bottom was a disaster. Don't they realize that a centimetre of graham crumbs mixed with butter, hard packed, and then frozen makes a good substitute for armour plating for tanks? And I was only given a spoon. At some points I felt like standing up and using both hands to get enough leverage.

* While they filled our water glasses assiduously, we had a very long wait with empty plates before the server arrived to talk about dessert.

* And isn't it about time for restaurants to stop exploiting female staff by making them wear revealing attire? Why was the male server covered from the neck down, but the female ones dressed in flimsy little shifts with low necklines?

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tajmurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsonFamily, Manager at Mattson & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Hello Lawrence. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear our food was not up to your standards and very much wish you had shared this with us while you were at the restaurant. We are committed to making everyone's Mattson experience the best it can be but this is only possible when issues are made known to us while you are dining.

We are glad you enjoyed our Caesar salad. We call ours authentic because we make everything in-house and from-scratch which some other establishments do not. We are sorry to hear you felt the fish was overdone and certainly wish you had shared this with us immediately so that we could make this right. As for our dessert, again we wish you had shared your disappointment with us as we would have certainly offered you an alternative.

Finally we must address your comment regarding exploiting women, we absolutely do not have double standards for our male and female staff. In fact both used to wear the same pants and collared shirts but last year our female staff asked if they could wear dresses and we agreed to this and have asked them to refrain from wearing anything sleeveless or too high cut. We will share your feedback with our staff regarding their work attire but do want to be clear we do not believe in exploiting women and rather were trying to allow our female staff to feel comfortable and confident in what they wear to work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Had an awesome time....again.
Staff are welcoming and very accommodating.
The owner, Ronn took time to chat with us. A nice personal touch!!!!

Food was great, love the atmosphere! I really enjoyed the kale/mushroom pizza.
Will be coming back again for sure :)

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Malik16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsonFamily, Manager at Mattson & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Wonderful to have you join us! Ronn loves connecting with guests and ensuring everything about their Mattson experience is perfect. We will look forward to having you join us again soon. Patio season is a great time to visit and enjoy a pizza and work your way through our cocktail and martini lists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

So far the best restaurant i’ve dined in. Curry mussels with fries were amazing, wine selection is amazing. Service is on point, and the owner, Ronn, is so friendly and nice. Definitely going back for dinner with some live jazz.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank mikelul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsonFamily, Manager at Mattson & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your high praise. We're glad you enjoyed your Moules Frites and our VQA wine list. We look forward to having you join us for weekend jazz and dinner, it does not disappoint!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mattson & Co also viewed

 
Dundas, Hamilton
 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Mattson & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing