We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Soup”
Review of Burnt Tongue

Burnt Tongue
Ranked #65 of 1,494 Restaurants in Hamilton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We visit both locations of the Burnt Tongue. Both locations are great but the Locke st.location is our favorite. Never had a soup we didn't like. I always ordered a tuna melt sandwich but sorry to say it's no longer on the menu. It's nice to have a variety of sizes of soup as well. Their burgers are great as well as their grilled cheese.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank douglasa310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Check out our friends at Burnt Tongue in Hamilton. Fresh, locally sourced ingredients help elevate soup-making to a fine food art. The chefs' daily creations are positively to die for. You're always greeted with welcoming and honest 'Hellos' from the most excellent Restaurant staff. Can't beat it for quality and pricing. Try the daily specials, or make this one of your regular haunts and chow down on a new go-to fab fav. Featured on Food Network's "You Gotta Eat Here," the Burnt Tongue has surpassed expectations and become a neighbourhood and City favourite. Check it out.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

What a great little spot! We stopped in for a quick bite, and were lucky enough to get a table. Ordered a variety of dishes from the menu boards (3 different soups, grilled cheese and a burger), and all were absolutely delicious! Everything tasted home made... exactly the way you'd make it, and served piping hot! Nice to have gluten free and vegan options available. We had the Cauliflower, Louisiana Vegetable and Moroccan Harira soups, one better than the next. The grilled cheese with white cheddar didn't have anything fancy our gourmet to try to make it better... and it was perfect. The only downside to the burger was that it was a bit too small for so much deliciousness! We will definitely come again... if only to try more of the menu items!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Locke St location on Wednesday afternoon around 3 pm. We were able to find free parking on a side street around the corner. There was a choice of seats inside the restaurant. My wife ordered the potato kale soup and a grilled cheese sandwich. I ordered the mulligatawny soup with french onion grilled cheese. Both soups were fantastic. The grilled cheese sandwiches were good but I had expected more. I wanted more cheese and more grill. The staff was very pleasant. I definitely will return and likely order frites the next time.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 151robj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The best place in town to have a terric bowl of tasty and healthy home made soup along with a great sandwich. Atmosphere is friendly and the service is knowledgable and helpful.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burnt Tongue also viewed

Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Burnt Tongue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing