We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 199 Restaurants in Belleville
Description: We are a casual fine dining restaurant. We offer everything from in house smoked ribs to braised lamb. One of Quinte's largest wine selection, craft beer and a great place to book for events. No dress code required, come by for a drink or great coffee. Experience one of the best patios in the Quinte region.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a casual fine dining restaurant. We offer everything from in house smoked ribs to braised lamb. One of Quinte's largest wine selection, craft beer and a great place to book for events. No dress code required, come by for a drink or great coffee. Experience one of the best patios in the Quinte region.
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

First impression of the restaurant was nice, small but very well utilized. We reserved a table for five and were seated on time. The waitress was pleasant however as the meal progressed continually made mistakes and failed to own up to them or acknowledge our disappointment. We each ordered an appetizer and when she delivered them only came with four in hand. When we informed her we were missing one she very rudely exclaimed she couldn't have missed one and was proven wrong upon checking her notepad. When she brought the missing soup out it was cold. We received 2/5 main courses 30 minutes before the remaining dishes were served and the two identical pastas looked nothing alike, you could tell it was extremely rushed, haphazard and inconsistent. The entire meal took two hours start to finish and was an incredibly long wait to be served. We will not be returning.

Thank cking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Hi ckin7, I sincerely apologize for your bad dining experience at Nineteen. I remember this night to be poorly executed on all fronts of the food and service. We are still in the process of refining everything to prevent this happening again and I personally take your bad experience very seriously. I would be very much like to apologize in person and make you an offer to perhaps change your mind and visit us once again.

Once again, apologies from the team@nineteen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Visited the restaurant for the first time for a staff Christmas lunch. The first impression with the decor and atmosphere was nice, clean and modern. Only fits about 30 people inside and I could see it being more intimate at night with dimmed lights.

The service was very slow. May have been a fluke or the person may have been new but we waited an hour and 20 minutes for our food(2 soups with salads, 2 sandwiches and 2 fish and chips). Not a great first impression. The ham and brie sandwich was great though.

Hopefully it won't be the last time we go, would be a nice spot in the summer on the patio.

Thank jenna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Our first mediocre review and there was much rejoicing :)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Had lunch with husband, baby and the in laws. Everyone was very pleased with their meals. I had the ham and Brie sandwich and have been waiting impatiently to go back and have it again! I didn't love the Caesar salad (It's not that it wasn't good just not what I expected), though I do love the fact that the dressing did not come out of a bottle but was made in house. The sweet potato fries are the best I've had so far. Definitely going back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BCChipchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Hi BCChipchase, I apologize for not responding faster, ty for the kind review, we look forward to your return :)

Team@Nineteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Have been there 3 times now , love the atmosphere and decor. Waitresses all very friendly. The food is really good, love there caesar salad and sweet potato fries . Everything I have had has been excellent. Will definitely be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Thank you Wendy for your great review, I am glad you like our Ceaser, we try to make everything a bit more modern and freshest as we can, hope to see you soon,

team @ Nineteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Went for lunch with a friend and was pleasantly surprised. Nice decor and the menu was good. Our server was great and we enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Will definitely return. Great sweet potato fries !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Thank you Susan G for your kind review, look forward to seeing you again :)

team @ Nineteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant also viewed

Belleville, Ontario
Belleville, Ontario
 
Belleville, Ontario
 

Been to Nineteen (XIX) Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing