We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved those Salty Balls”

PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint
Ranked #16 of 573 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We made this a specific target to drive to on the Friday of Thanksgiving weekend. Didn't get there till about 2 p.m and apart from one family group we were the only other people in there. Got top notch service from the manager (who apparently is in a battle for the best Pie joint with her husband who runs the one in Collingwood....people..we've been to both...its a tie..trust me!!)

So we were just going to order a pizza but the manager talked us into trying the Salty Balls. So thank you, I am now ruined for life and will have to make another 200 km round trip to have them again!

Great pizza joint, different decor to the one in Collingwood but it works just as well. Service was spot on, food was excellent in that it was presented well, tasted superb and even leftovers at home the next day went down a treat.

Heartily recommend any of this small chains restaurants. We have tried quite a few of the places that have been featured on tv's "You Gotta Eat Here" and not all of them have lived up to the tv show, but Pie definitely does.

Certainly worth the drive from my home 100 km east of Toronto as we just don't get pizza this good in my neck of the woods

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucywestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018

From the moment you begin looking for a hostess or a table, to the time you pay and leave...you're a number...and you're inconveniencing them. Good pizza, but not spectacular and definitely unreasonably priced.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rielp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Went here on weekend while visiting Barrie. Great location across from boat Marina and park downtown Barrie.
Good place to come after a cool stroll on the waterfront.
Wood oven made pizzas, not your regular pizza take out. Modern decor great view of Lake.
Pizzas are ordered as individual size which is 22 inch. The three of us ordered two pizzas which was more than enough. Full range of alcohol drinks and non alcoholic drinks so great for family.They have their own spin on the traditional pizzas and flavours are great on the pizzas we ordered. Crusts nice thin not soggy . Overall recommend this place and good value reasonable price, service was very good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Pomkican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We have been here several times and have never been disappointed. We've sat both inside and on the outdoor patio depending on the weather and availability of seating. Lots of novel pizzas on the menu. They have food items other than pizza as well. Staff are friendly, service is usually quick and the food is good. An enjoyable experience. We will continue to frequent this establishment.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 952billr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Got takeout at the Bryne location which is a little out of the way. As it was my first time here, it did take a few minutes to view the menu. Very creative combinations, however none that are the familiar ones. Don't ask for a Deluxe here. Doesn't exist. That said I had the blue cheese, pear and carmelized onion pizza with walnuts. It was very good - nice thin fired crust, and great tasting fresh ingredients> the only improvement I would make is to include some al a carte choices for toppings. Not every body is this "creative" And secondly go a bit heavier on the toppings as they were a bit thin. Good thing it was a nice crust .

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank babinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint also viewed

 

Been to PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing