We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ontario
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Trout Camp
Ranked #46 of 1,275 Speciality Lodging in Ontario
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Nice spot along Gillies lake. It's absolutely quiet and very clean. The host are nice. We stay only for one night on a primitive campsite but we enjoyed it. It's located about 35 minutes from Tobermory.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks for you nice review. Hopefully you can stay another time for a little bit longer to see what the Northern Bruce Peninsula can offer you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for one night with our rental RV and sadly our plans changed so we couldn't stay our original planned second night. Nevertheless we had a memorable time particularly as it was hog roast night when we arrived to raise money for a defibrillator which was such fun and delicious. The 'locals' were really friendly and invited us to sit with them, it was a great experience for us Brits! The site is immaculate and our three girls had a great time on the inflatable and then we also hired a reasonably priced motor boat to hang out on the lake for an hour. The pitches are a good size and facilities very nice (love the piped music in the washrooms!). We stopped in over 10 sites on our road trip in Ontario and this one was up with the best.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank My2cents-adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for the wonderful review and I think we all had a great time at the Pig Roast it was so yummy, I especially like the "Crackle" the crunchy outside skin and thank goodness the weather co-operated! We had many generous donations and we surpassed our goal for the AED machine so we hopefully have enough monies to purchased the outside casing for it:) it was a pleasure to have you for your short stay. Kindest Regards, Ron & Kathie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I camped at mountain trout camp and had an amazing time! The owners were so friendly and welcoming and gillies lake was so nice to swim in. We rented kayaks one afternoon and explored the lake which was so beautiful. The bathrooms were very clean and our campsite was nice too! We will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shandel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

So happy to hear you had a wonderful time, kayaking Gillies Lake is I think one of the most peaceful relaxing things I love to do here. Maybe you will come for a longer visit next time. Thanks for the kind words, Ron & I expect cleanliness to the max, we use to be campers too:) and we thought that was 1 of the most important drawing cards to a campground!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Hospitality at its finest. If you are fortunate enough to visit the Bruce peninsula and are looking for a clean, professional, relaxed environment with family oriented campground this would be the place to go. Ron and Kathie are well respected owners of this campground and are very courteous and understanding to the need a of a very large family. If anyone that is looking for a clean and well run campground that will meet your expectations and beyond look no further then mountain trout camp. Look forward to another drive to the peninsula and enjoy another stay here. Thanks Ron and Kathie.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hey Jason thanks for the kinds words, yes we are very family oriented here and quite enjoyed your family of 6 children! The twins were little dolls. Take care and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We camped at MTC after a long day of hiking on the Bruce Trail. Ron and Kathie were extremely accommodating, they were happy to help us in any way they could. The campsite was clean, quiet and beautiful. Can't wait to return and "put our feet up" as Ron invited us to do.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CharliePBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks for the kinds words, both Ron & I can't believe the milage that some of you hikers do in a day! Hence the words 'put your feet up." Hopefully our paths cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ontario hotels
296.4 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
295.7 km away
Sheraton on the Falls
Sheraton on the Falls
#6 of 128 in Niagara Falls
7,349 reviews
216.2 km away
Sheraton Gateway Hotel in Toronto International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
285.2 km away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,250 reviews
296.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
185.3 km away
Lake Dalrymple Resort
Lake Dalrymple Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebright
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trout Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trout Camp

Address: 60 Dalys Rd | Rr #1, Ontario N0H 1Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,275 Speciality Lodging in Ontario
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Trout Campground, 25 minutes from Tobermory, Ontario. The campground is located on Gillies Lake (Northern Bruce Peninsula). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing