We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$209
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$242
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$178
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$329
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$223
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$308
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$291/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$232
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$308
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$278
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
26
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain troutgood sizebruce trailboat rentalsporta pottiesyoung manamazing spotget awayone nightprovincial parkrontobermorygilliestrailergravelmtcinflatables
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for one night with our rental RV and sadly our plans changed so we couldn't stay our original planned second night. Nevertheless we had a memorable time particularly as it was hog roast night when we arrived to raise money for a defibrillator which was such fun and delicious. The 'locals' were really friendly and invited us to sit with them, it was a great experience for us Brits! The site is immaculate and our three girls had a great time on the inflatable and then we also hired a reasonably priced motor boat to hang out on the lake for an hour. The pitches are a good size and facilities very nice (love the piped music in the washrooms!). We stopped in over 10 sites on our road trip in Ontario and this one was up with the best.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank My2cents-adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for the wonderful review and I think we all had a great time at the Pig Roast it was so yummy, I especially like the "Crackle" the crunchy outside skin and thank goodness the weather co-operated! We had many generous donations and we surpassed our goal for the AED machine so we hopefully have enough monies to purchased the outside casing for it:) it was a pleasure to have you for your short stay. Kindest Regards, Ron & Kathie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I camped at mountain trout camp and had an amazing time! The owners were so friendly and welcoming and gillies lake was so nice to swim in. We rented kayaks one afternoon and explored the lake which was so beautiful. The bathrooms were very clean and our campsite was nice too! We will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shandel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

So happy to hear you had a wonderful time, kayaking Gillies Lake is I think one of the most peaceful relaxing things I love to do here. Maybe you will come for a longer visit next time. Thanks for the kind words, Ron & I expect cleanliness to the max, we use to be campers too:) and we thought that was 1 of the most important drawing cards to a campground!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Hospitality at its finest. If you are fortunate enough to visit the Bruce peninsula and are looking for a clean, professional, relaxed environment with family oriented campground this would be the place to go. Ron and Kathie are well respected owners of this campground and are very courteous and understanding to the need a of a very large family. If anyone that is looking for a clean and well run campground that will meet your expectations and beyond look no further then mountain trout camp. Look forward to another drive to the peninsula and enjoy another stay here. Thanks Ron and Kathie.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hey Jason thanks for the kinds words, yes we are very family oriented here and quite enjoyed your family of 6 children! The twins were little dolls. Take care and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We camped at MTC after a long day of hiking on the Bruce Trail. Ron and Kathie were extremely accommodating, they were happy to help us in any way they could. The campsite was clean, quiet and beautiful. Can't wait to return and "put our feet up" as Ron invited us to do.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CharliePBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks for the kinds words, both Ron & I can't believe the milage that some of you hikers do in a day! Hence the words 'put your feet up." Hopefully our paths cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed on site F6 site was a good size and gravel which suited our small trailer perfectly. this site had water and electric hook up. There is no dump station at this campground. they have a pumper truck that can suck out your trailer at the end of your stay or when needed. The charge for that was $10.00.
We very much enjoyed (both the adults AND the kids) the jungle gym on the water. there was one day we spent the entire day on the very well maintained dock.There is no sandy beach but there is sand that was brought in that kids can enjoy. There is a sandy shallow area and a slide that younger children can play in.
All of the staff were very friendly. The store is well stocked with items you may have forgotten. WIFI is very poor. do not expect service here.
Toilets and showers are clean and there are also some clean porta potties around the campground.
The lake is beautiful and so quiet. the whole property is very well maintained and I could tell just pulling in that Ron and Kathie take great pride in the gem that they have. We will for sure be returning!

Room Tip: This is a campground
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thanks for the lovely review and yes Ron & I take great pride in our hidden treasure of beauty, Gillies Lake where our campground is situated. Our dump station is located in a awkward spot and it is much easier to take the pumper truck to you. :) Thanks again and hopefully we see you next year here at Mountain Trout Camp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews