We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveller rating
702
566
140
54
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
566
140
54
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview of the lakegames roomlakeside grillhotel dogsmall lakebest westernspool and hot tubpeggy's covedowntown halifaxfree parkingshort drivebreakfast buffeteasy accessyogurtfront desk staffbeds were comfortableexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Highly recommend this clean, family friendly hotel. Just had an exceptional 4 night stay. Our room had a wonderful view of the lake. Peaceful and close to everywhere we needed to go. Staff were amazing and loved the resident Chocolate Labrador retriever Cocoa. Would return.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Wow-thank you for the fabulous review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

The family of the late Andrew Bednarz would like to take this opportunity on this forum to thank the staff and management of Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake. We would especially like to say thank you to Phyllis, who showed great compassion and caring to us in our time of sorrow. She took time out of her busy days while we were here, to talk with us and share stories of sadness. She is truly a kind, compassionate, caring person and we will never forget her generosity. I was having breakfast one morning and I glanced at the bottom of the keycard. It states, "stay with people who care". Those words could not be more true. So, again, thank you to all of you. We will not forget you.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Central hotel at a great price. This hotel offers a very good free hot buffet breakfast with lots of choices. Parking is also included which is rare in this area. Very friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Requested a couple things brought to our room and they were delivered right away. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Excellent meal last night at the Lakeside Grill ! Great place to go with a group. Very tasty appetizers, and I had the Grilled Haddock. Have been living here for 30 years and have had haddock many, many places. The Lakeside's presentation made my jaw drop, and it was delicious. A pet peeve of mine is bar/restaurant wine prices. The Lakeside's price by the bottle ($26 for a South American Malbec) best around!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank lindamac43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It was our first time staying here and we both loved it! Rooms were very clean and cozy, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast downstairs was delicious, just what we needed before a long day of shopping. We ate lunch one day at the Lakeside Grill onsite and that was amazing! Very delicious! We both have nothing but great things to say about our stay, from the friendly, helpful staff, the great views from our room and the restaurant downstairs, and the cozy, clean rooms. We will definitely be back again :)

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews