We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
205
158
42
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
158
42
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen argyle street great location street noise stove top waffle maker bars and restaurants sofa bed underground parking bedroom suite neptune theatre hotel is located rooftop patio front desk staff walking distance living area rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We had a 2- bedroom suite for two nights. It was expensive but some similar accommodations for a similar price were only one-bedroom. The living room was very big and had a sofa bed that we did not use. There was a small desk with chair and an armchair in the living room.. There was loads more room and I did suggest at check out that a second armchair should be available as if there were more than three people staying there, seating would be lacking. The kitchen was fine and reasonably well equipped. The bedrooms are identical, fairly small but each with a queen bed, ensuite bath, small closet.

The hotel location is very good, only minutes walk from the waterfront and near all the bars and restaurants. This is the general vicinity where you want to be if a tourist in Halifax. In return, it is quite noisy with both vehicles and partiers. The windows appear to be thin. The units are a bit dated but bedding and beds were very good.

The hotel is a bit of a an uphill walk for a couple of blocks from the water. We were able to easily do the tourism recommended self- walking tour hitting all the sights. There did not seem to be much around for groceries and the wine store was a bit of a walk.

The breakfast was by far the best free breakfast in two weeks. Turkey sausage was appreciated for those who do no eat beef or pork - wish more places would know this!

Staff all very nice and check- in and checkout was fast. WIFI was good. Parking is available for daily fee and is assigned so you can come and go - elevator goes straight to room floor.

One suggestion would be for one of the two bathrooms in these suites be converted to a walk-in shower instead of two tubs units.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Cayman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

CanadianIslanders,

Thank you for providing your detailed review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back the next time your are in Halifax!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Rooms were very nice.
Our first room smelled of lobster (had a kitchenette in the room) - we requested a change and they accommodated us without a problem even though hotel was busy due to marathon that weekend.
We would stay here again!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank figureskater43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Figureskater43,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send your feedback, it is much appreciated. I am sorry that your experienced a smell in you first room, however i am pleased to hear our team was able to resolve this for you.

We look forward to having you back whenever your travels bring you to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Had a very nice stay here the other night with my wife. Was ideal for our needs and great service. Thank you very much! The location was primo, beds were comfy, staff were kind! Fast check in too which was awesome!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank FamilyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

FamilyMatt,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the stay and the service provided to you. I will be sure to share your comments with all of our associates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This hotels in a great location! I've stayed here in the past & had no issues. Unfortunately this time i cant say the same.The room had an awful musty smell, which i got some freshener and looked past. Our view out our window, was spikes on a roof top ,garbage& don't forget right into other rooms, had to make sure my blinds were kept closed. I had an issue with my TV being on at 8:12 pm and was requested to turn it off. At this point in time i asked if i could pay for an upgraded room so i could be moved. Was told no, so i was stuck in the room. Was woke in the morning long before check out time to the maids vacuuming across the hall. Also to top it all off, i was charged more then i reserved the room for & received no bill under the door for a summary of charges & the front desk & lobby in the morning was packed with people so i had no chance to speak to anyone.So i basically got charged for my requested upgrade that i never received. Very glad Halifax has multiple other branded hotels for my future stays.

Room tip: Rooms at the back or front of the hotel would be better views !Not inside rooms which look into other rooms & a terrible rooftop.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashley02266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Ashley02266:

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the property in the past and apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your last stay. Upon investigation, we had indicated that we only had one room available for your requested stay. It is our policy to ensure that all guests are comfortable and if an upgrade was available we would have certainly have upgraded you. When our front desk associates receive a noise complaint from any room, we politely ask that guest to respect our other guests and that is what we did in this instance. Our housekeeping team is very aware of all our guests needs. You were not charged for an upgrade and we would be glad to resend your receipt. Again, we thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We were in Halifax for a family wedding and stayed three nights at the Residence Inn Marriott. It's a rather plain looking ordinary building from the outside, but the inside is very contemporary and attractive. It is a full suite hotel, with rooms with fully equipped kitchens. We didn't need the kitchen, but chose it for the extra space in the rooms, and even more so for its location. Very friendly and capable staff, friendly and helpful. Room was nicely appointed and very clean. Furniture and bed were comfortable (although it is just a double bed). Pretty quiet even with its proximity to a couple of nearby pubs. Easy walking distance to the waterfront and a multitude of eating and entertainment nearby. The only complaint is that the 15 minute loading zone in front is not enforced, so it is difficult to park to load luggage when checking out (or in) as people literally park there for hours or even overnight. The breakfast was very good, with a good variety of items.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 404HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaghan W, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

404HappyTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. it is very nice to know you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you.

We look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews