We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Extremely entertaining theatre in a beautiful location!

This was my first time attending SBTS and I will definitely be returning next time I'm in Halifax... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2019
Rosemarie S
,
Trinidad and Tobago
The Best summer Theatre experience in Halifax.

This is an exceptional theatrical experience. I've seen Twelfth Night as least a dozen times... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2018
thetravelprof
,
Canada
Read all 80 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Halifax
from US$88.11
More Info
from US$60.53
More Info
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
66
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
11
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wizard of oz actors theatre play park jokes path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This is an exceptional theatrical experience. I've seen Twelfth Night as least a dozen times. Shakespeare by the Sea's performance was the best of the lot, vastly entertaining and well worth the very reasonable ticket price. We saw a hilarious Twelfth Night, very well performed, no doubt in my mind, as Shakespeare probably intended.
The 'Sweet Seats' in the front rows are only $25 including tax, come with a folding chair all set up and a free bottle of water. The advantage of these seats is that you can be more engaged in the performance, and especially if you're vertically challenged, can have an unobstructed or less obstructed view.
We were impressed with the cast, in particular the Fool, who wrote and performed much, if not all, of the music. Some renditions of Twelfth Night feature music that distracts from the performance, in this case, the music is a seamless integrated part of the whole play. I can't help but think that Shakespeare would be pleased.
Even if you've never read or studied Shakespeare, you will find this experience well worth it. The same applies to any of the other offerings of this company.
This is an outdoor venue, in a relaxed atmosphere. Just in case, take a blanket or dress in layers. A flashlight is handy for returning to your car or the bus stop. Enjoy!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank thetravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Went and saw twelfth night last night. It’s worth the money to pre order tickets. You get a front row seat and a bottle of water for just $25 each. Such a great organization. You get entertainment and 2 nice walks in the park. And the shows are always so well produced. Great way to spend a fine evening.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank briankH1022JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Once again Shakespeare by the sea was outstanding! The outdoor atmosphere the actors(Tom !!) Great night out.Tip, bring a warm sweater or jacket for when the sun goes down it cools off quickly

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Spent a wonderful evening last night watching a hilarious rendition of "The Twelfth Night". You could bring your own chairs or rent one from them for $2. We brought our own and learned that you could move non-reserved chairs and replace them with your own provided you set up their chairs in a vacant portion of the designated area. There was a hill behind the seating area where people sat on blankets for the performance. I can not say enough about how much we enjoyed the evening. We are from Florida and have enjoyed Shakespeare plays all over the world and this was well worth the suggested donation of $20 pp.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Travelaholic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Someone we met on another tour told us about this little gem. They saw a different show but loved it. We went to Twelfth Night. OMG❣ Even if you don't understand the words, you definitely know what is being said by the acting . Naughty, bawdy and absolutely hilarious❣ A lovely way to spend the evening outdoors in a wonderful park. If you don't have chairs they provide them, with a bottled water, for a very reasonable fee. If we were staying longer we'd go to all of the plays they are offering.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SnowMWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews