We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marty O
Las Cruces, New Mexico

Great Base for Exploring Halifax

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Aug 2022
On a recent road trip that included Halifax Nova Scotia, we chose the Pebble B&B as our base for exploring Halifax. We did not regret that choice. The setting on side street in a quiet neighborhood made for a relaxing stay at the property and the location was perfect for getting to and from the city center and other nearby sites. Our hosts were friendly, helpful, and attentive to our needs. The friendly banter around the breakfast table with other guests and our hosts was lively and enjoyable. The accommodation was excellent as were the wonderful breakfasts. If Halifax is included in future travel plans we will stay at the Pebble again.
Date of stay: June 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€151
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    €116
  • Expedia.com
    €158
1.6 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
€268
€231
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €268
  • Hotels.com
    €264
  • Tripadvisor
    €232
2.7 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€182
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €217
  • Skyscanner.com
    €169
  • Hotels.com
    €214
2.3 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€228
€179
  • Expedia.com
    €228
  • Official Hotel
    €180
  • Hotels.com
    €225
2.7 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€171
  • Expedia.com
    €171
  • Skyscanner.com
    €161
  • Hotels.com
    €171
4.6 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
€215
  • Hotels.com
    €230
  • Official Hotel
    €204
  • Expedia.com
    €233
2.7 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Outside Entrance
€121
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    €114
  • Expedia.com
    €137
2.8 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
€149
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    €143
  • Expedia.com
    €150
4.7 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
€246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €246
  • Tripadvisor
    €246
  • Priceline
3.1 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Duffus Boardroom
€135
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    €127
  • Official Hotel
    €143
2.9 km from The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Halifax
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
281
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
281
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nova scotia irish oatmeal irish hospitality quiet neighborhood molton brown toiletries charming hosts b bs living room every morning guests feel bed linen bath products large bathroom view of the water wonderful stay visiting halifax location was perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2022

My family and I recently stayed at The Pebble B&B while touring Universities and it was the highlight of our trip. The host and hostess are absolutely delightful and their home is lovely. After a long drive we arrived to such a warm reception, beautifully appointed rooms with the most spectacular view of the water and given a fabulous recommendation for dinner-Eliot and Vine.
Our beds were so comfortable, linen pressed and duvet plump making it difficult to get up and get going. Breakfast did not disappoint, seated in her beautiful kitchen enjoying the best Irish Oatmeal I have ever had served with homemade jam and biscuits and French Press Coffee and fresh juice.
We look forward to visiting this beautiful gem again.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearBARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2022

The Pebble deserves at least 10 stars! A beautiful, quiet setting for a peaceful visit to Halifax. You will be pampered by hosts Liz and David at the moment you set foot into their comfortable home. We enjoyed a three night stay and would return in a minute. In addition to the luxurious rooms you will be treated to a 5-star breakfast every morning. Ask Liz about local recommendations as well as the history of their lovely home. If you are looking for a stay in Halifax, look no further! Thank you, Liz and David.

Date of stay: June 2022
Thank Buckslolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2022

We recently stayed at this incredible B&B in Halifax. It was a perfect stay. Our suite on the top floor was so comfortable with the bed of your dreams that I hardly wanted to get out of. The bed linen was perfectly pressed, I need this bed at home. Loved sitting in one of the two cozy chairs by the window in the morning, watching the fog lift over the harbour as the sun was coming up. The aromas of breakfast lured us downstairs to the kitchen where Liz and David were preparing breakfast. There is a dining room where guests are served but we were even luckier and had breakfast with Liz at the dining table in their gorgeous kitchen. We felt like family. Breakfast itself was a first class affair, yogurt and fruits, poached eggs with smoked salmon, asparagus and tangy hollandaise, French press coffee, all served in their unique blue porcelain. The house is surrounded by beautiful landscape. It’s beautiful everywhere you look.

The House is located in a gorgeous neighbourhood by the water in a convenient location from which to visit everywhere in Halifax. Liz and David are the perfect hosts and I highly recommend a stay at The Pebbles. I would rank the stay as 10 out of 10.

Room tip: We stayed on the top floor and loved it.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliveOilandLemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2022

The room was beautiful with a fantastic, large bathroom with a great shower.

Nothing was too much trouble for Lizzie. Great breakfasts. Really gorgeous house in a convenient position in Halifax.

We would loive to stay there again

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 182veronicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2022

The Pebble is quite simply the best B&B I have stayed in anywhere in Canada let alone Nova Scotia. The charm and class of 1839 Armview Terrace is only exceeded by that of Liz and David O'Carroll who are outstanding innkeepers and hosts. From the comfortable bed, to the spacious and well-equipped bathrooms with Molton & Brown toiletries, to the excellent breakfasts and steady supply of tea and Newman's port in the evening, The Pebble is in a category all its own. It is truly my home away from home while in Halifax.

Room tip: The Garret rooms are perfect for a family with one or two children.
Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrewbX4117EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews