We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveller rating
711
553
202
88
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
553
202
88
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic gardensarms pubbeautiful parkspring garden roadhistoric hotelaveda toiletriesbeautiful lobbyan older hotelwithin walking distancedalhousie universitynova scotiadowntown halifaxfront desk staffan upgradecomfortable hotelcoffee makerunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed at the Lord Nelson at the beginning of September. It is ideally located for anyone dropping a child off at the university. It has lots of character, especially in the lounge. The rooms are quite nicely decorated but the air conditioners need to be updated. They have no "fan only" setting, so if you are just trying to circulate air in the room, this is not possible. Our room faced Southpark Avenue, which is quite busy so there was traffic noise if the windows were left open at night.
It is a short walk down Springland Drive (the main shopping street) right to the harbour (but a steeper uphill walk). Staff were very pleasant. The lounge is intimate for drinks. A breakfast buffet is served which is just "okay". There is a limited variety of food to order from the menu for breakfast if you don't like the buffet.
The hotel is a short walk from a huge number of restuarants and pubs.

Room Tip: A room away from elevators might be advisable as the sound of people talking can be heard through the doors.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 613Stepheng73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany D, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thank you for the review 613Stepheng73! It is nice to see that you enjoyed the hotel and all that comes with it! I think we should change Spring Garden Road to Spring-land Drive - hehe, Very clever! We hope to invite you back soon to the Lord Nelson Hotel where we will have a band new product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

A bit past it's prime, the Lord Nelson can still impress enough to make one feel like it's a special occasion while a guest. The door staff are in full display, so I was surprised that when I got out of the cab there was no one offering any assistance so, I carried my large suitcase up a few stairs (at under 5 feet and of retirement age, it's just good to be able to be self-sufficient). The suite had a good kitchenette. The beds are very comfortable. In general, I was more pleased than not, and I would probably return to the Lord Nelson, if in Halifax again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany D, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Pamela V - Thank you for the great review and very happy to see that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you back with us in the future to try out our brand new product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Wanted a hotel that was walkable to waterfront. I think the Lord Nelson Hotel filled the bill AND more. The neighborhood has all the shopping on Spring Garden, with Starbucks and Lululemon. I found the neighborhood Muksha Yoga and walked to class.
Hotel has a lovely front porch to sit on and just drink your morning coffee, which everyone walked around the corner to get. Perfect to sit while waiting for your car or cab from the the circular driveway in front of you, and across from Public Gardens. A group of old fashioned friendly doormen open and close the doors into the beautiful grand lobby.
I was afraid of parking situation in Halifax from what I read, but it isn't true. Parking lot was literally connected to the circular driveway, well lighted, large and immaculately clean. Not at all what I envisioned. Much better ; no charge for leaving and reentering, and we didn't feel like walking back from the waterfront dinner we planned, so we took the car out, drove down the hill, and easily found parking in an opened air lot, literally on the waterfront, for $6C.
Hotel hallways and lobby have been beautifully refurbished, but room was a bit plain and could use updating next. But large, and immaculately clean and comfy bed. The Lord Nelson was a perfect choice for a stay in Halifax.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany D, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Paula G - I am going to have to agree with you 100% when you say that the Lord Nelson was a perfect choice. Our location is centrally located in the heart of the city making it very convenient to visit all the different shops and stores! We are currently renovating our property to give you the ultimate WOW factor that you would hope for. Thank you for sharing a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The Lord Nelson is a Halifax signature spot. On the pricier side of places to stay, it is worth it if you desire attentive staff, well appointed, clean, spacious rooms in a central Halifax location. Many attractions are close by such as the Citadel. Many fabulous gastronomic destinations are all within easy walking distance of this hotel. A mere 15 minutes walk and you are in the downtown area of Halifax and the harbour walk. Do yourself a favour and stay here at least once. You won't regret it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank juergenming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany D, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thank you for the 5 star review juergenming - We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This well-known hotel is beautifully situated across from the Public Gardens, one of the best examples of Victorian style gardens in North America! It also happens to be kitty-corner from Smitty's family restaurant which happens to serve the best buttermilk pancakes I have ever enjoyed! At the top of the Spring Garden Road shopping district, and on the same street as several very nice shops such as Thornbloom (housewares), Thumpers Hair Salon, and Humani-T- Cafe, this hotel is perfect for a short or long sojourn. A slight flaw is the expensive parking (~$30/nite), and the inability to easily access it when leaving with luggage from the P2 parking level. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A view of the Public Gardens on South Park St. would be desireable.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany D, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Good Day Emily M, Thank you for staying at the Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites. It is good to see you enjoyed the many shops and dining options located near our property. I appreciate your comment with our parking facility. As we go through our renovations within the hotel, we are gaining a new parking system to ensure we don't run into these inconveniences. I hope to see you return to the Lord Nelson in the future and if there is anything i can do I will be glad to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews