We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,684)
Filter reviews
1,684 results
Traveller rating
1,096
413
112
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
413
112
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm cookies bathroom mirror rain shower suite hotel self parking living room valet service small kitchenette hollis street maritime museum harbour view two blocks within walking distance front desk staff excellent location beautiful hotel sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,684 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Awesome location, walking distance to waterfront. Lots of bars, restaurants. Rooms super clean, staff awesome. Breakfast was very good and even though its a buffet, eggs made to order are available if you ask.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Connector41450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Good morning to you and thank you for your visit and review!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

All the best,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We love this hotel when staying in Halifax. It is walking distance to a number of great attractions and restaurants and offers excellent value. Also very family friendly. The staff are absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Z6402HHjaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Good morning Jane B,

I would like to thank you and your family for your continued loyalty with us at The Hollis Halifax. Thank you also for the feedback.

We look forward to seeing your again and appreciate your business.

Regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

The room was lovely, the bed was comfy, great location they just fell a bit short with a couple service issues. The parking which was 19$ a night was paid for but upon going to the lot,it was full. We then had to go back to the hotel and speak to someone before being told about a second parking lot. There was also an additional charge that appeared on my card that we werent told about but it was refunded and the person i spoke to about it hung up on me as i was saying goodbye. A bit rude, and no cookie upon check in. Just a few annoyances but nothing too serious.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank swa859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Good morning swa859,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate your business and feedback greatly and I am sorry to hear we fell short in a couple of areas. Our staff should have communicated to you all the options for parking upon check-in, to save you from having to seek it out. Additionally, we pride ourselves on customer service so your comment on rude staff is not the norm for us, nor is it acceptable. The offering of a cookie is a brand standard for us and I am sorry this was not presented to you. I am glad to hear that the rest of your stay was great and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We booked two rooms at the Hollis, for three nights. The staff at check-in were great. My parents didn’t have a problem with their room. On our second night, a loud drunk group checked in next door to us. We complained to the front desk, and this was dealt with promptly. Thanks to the staff that night! There was a little more noise for twenty minutes or so, then quiet. On our last night at the hotel, we noticed ants in our room. All over the wet bar area, and two spots on the floor in the living and dining areas. Staff (again, very good to deal with!) moved us to a different room. The most annoying part of our stay happened the next morning in the hotel breakfast bar. Food selection was OK, but service was terrible - we mentioned they were out of scrambled eggs, and their replay was “we know”. There was a made-to-order egg station, but our group’s requests for poached and scrambled eggs seemed to annoy the cook - she was quite rude. Our server was also rude and disorganized. Simple requests for water took over five minutes, when there were only three tables occupied. Little value for the cost of our breakfast. We mentioned our overall disappointment to the staff. We figured they might comp us for our valet charges or with loyalty points, but that morning’s desk staff didn’t seem concerned.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tilted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Good morning Tilted P,

I would like to thank you and your family for staying with us. Thank you also for your candid review as we appreciate all the feedback we receive. That being said, please allow me to apologize for the areas we fell short. This is certainly not the norm, nor is it what we strive for. Our expectation equals your expectation and I am sorry. Please be assured that your feedback has not fallen on deaf ears.

If you would like to discuss the specifics of your stay further, I would welcome that. I can be reach by what ever means is the most convenient to you.

Best regards,

Jamie Bolduc
General Manager
(902) 429 4371 direct
jamie.bolduc@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The rooms are spacious comfortable and quiet. Mine overlooked the waterfront, what a view!! The staff were very helpful and went above and beyond. The warm chocolate chip oatmeal welcome cookies were so delicious! It was perfectly central for walking to the convention centre, the waterfront and downtown exploring.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank brendajoyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Good morning brendajoyca and thank you for your visit and review. We certainly appreciate both very much and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and the great view.

We look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you again.

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews