We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$247
US$222
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prince George Hotel(Halifax)
US$232
US$201
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Garden South Park Inn(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beatonridge Guest House(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
279
236
74
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
236
74
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoscar wildeno elevatorfree parkingantique furnitureblues bargreat locationfirst floordowntown halifaxhenry housetea and coffeewithin walking distancebreakfast roomjacuzzi tubmain floorbaked goodsflights of stairsoff street parking
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to learn we'd been upgraded to the lovely & large Vanderbilt room, the room was filled with gorgeous antiques of the Victorian age, not very comfy, but the bed made up for it.
Yes, the a/c was very noisy, but not really a problem
There is a balcony on this floor for smokers, it's directly outside this room's bathroom window, which meant zero privacy & occasional smell of disgusting cigarettes, this really should be moved away from the room
The breakfast was adequate, but not too creative, but the food was replenished & kept fresh
The location of this hotel was ideal for walking to many attractions, especially the fantastic waterfront
Ample free parking!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Enjoyed our two nights at the Waverley Inn and pleased it was located close to restaurants and the waterfront. The tea and coffee cart was a nice feature. Our room was at the very top and only criticism was that the air was a bit stuffy. Great reception and cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We loved this hotel! It has a great location, good breakfast, and the staff is very friendly. The room was on the small side and the air conditioner unit was incredibly noisy, but overall a wonderful and historic place to stay.

Room Tip: If they fix the air conditioner, than it would be a fantastic place!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LTGswang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

A stay at the Waverly Inn was an important part of a great recent visit to Halifax. We chose the Inn based on several criteria: price, location, amenities, character and TA reviews. We were not disappointed. Prices compared favourably with big box chains that offered the usual bed and breakfast experience. However, the Waverley outperformed these other options in terms of location and ambiance. The cheerful yellow heritage structure was built in 1865 and has been a hotel since 1876. It is a delightful way to engage with the history of Halifax.

It was important for us as 2 women of middle age travelling without a car that we be able to access the hotel easily using public transport. The hotel’s location at the south end of Barrington St. was a short 2 blocks from the Maritime Bus Depot next to the VIA Rail Station and Westin hotel. Major streets in the area are lined with good dining options, there’s a 24 grocery 2.5 blocks south, and major attractions such as Pier 21, the Farmers’ Market and Harbour Walk are a short walk away. That said, if you are driving, the hotel is easy to get to, has a large parking lot, and a side entry at grade that avoids the street-side front stairs. However, unless your room is situated on the ground floor, be advised you will need to be able to get yourself and your bags up some major stairs without assistance.

Downtown Halifax is a compact area which rewards the walker. The city is booming and construction cranes are everywhere. Construction means that streets to the north in the centre of the core are often partially or completely blocked by workmen and equipment, with the attendant noise construction entails. Another reason we were happy with our choice of the Waverley, well out of this zone, abutting a primarily residential neighbourhood.

We were booked in the twin bedded (2 doubles, actually) William Henry Room, overlooking Barrington St. at the front of the hotel. The room is large, with a 15 ft. ceiling, and furnished with antiques. Beds are exceedingly comfortable feather beds. A large armoire provides hanging space in the absence of a closet, and a massive dresser easily handles everything else. The bathroom is tiny but efficient: you can pivot and essentially perform all necessary tasks. A ceiling fan in the bedroom was a welcome addition and would be essential in hot weather. Floor-length blackout drapes – very useful since the room faces due east to the morning sun – were less effective than they might have been. Their length caused problems with the various cords for phone, clock-alarm that sit on the table between the beds in front of the window. The drapes really should be shortened to meet the bottom window sill, leaving space for cords below. We ended up lifting the right-hand drape up to the sill at night when the drapes were closed. A pair of low Victorian parlour chairs, desk and chair complete the furnishings. We used the chairs a bit. One could use some re-upholstery: you sink so far down into it it’s hard to get out!

Breakfast is served In the basement level breakfast room, which is a nice bright room thanks to an outdoor exit to the street. Hours are convenient and the selection is perfectly adequate. There are always a few hot selections (pancakes, French toast, ham slices) in addition to the usual cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels, scones, etc. Coffee and tea are always available; after breakfast a station in the front hall provides residents the opportunity for a drink and a snack throughout the day. Daily newspaper is thoughtfully provided as well.

Service was efficient and kind. Check in and check out were quick. Front Desk staff were always available to answer questions and deal with issues. Our only real issue was with the in-room Wi-Fi. The speed varied widely depending on the time of day. In the afternoons and evenings it was invariably slow as it struggled to meet user demand. Mornings presented no problems at all. When we asked about this one afternoon front desk staff did not hesitate to come to the 2nd floor and reset the router. But that’s a work-around, not a fix. The Wi-Fi service really needs to be addressed properly. On the plus side the main floor lounge provides 2 computers for residents’ use. One is connected to a printer which allows for web check-in of flights and printing of boarding passes. This is a great idea that much larger hotels would be well-advised to copy.

The room was kept spotless and was always made up promptly. Room personnel we encountered were always very friendly and welcoming. It was particularly nice when one of them, noticing our interest, invited us into the room she was cleaning to have a look at the layout and furnishings.

The only other issue to mention is that of potential noise from the restaurant/bar across the street, which features live music several nights a week. Music can be heard if you have a street-facing room, even with the windows shut. Moreover, smokers gather on the sidewalk outside to chat. If you are a light sleeper, request a room that does not overlook the street, or else pack your ear plugs; you’ll need them.

We would not hesitate to return to Halifax or to the Waverley Inn.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Stayed here two nights. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The tea and coffee cart was right outside our room. A full breakfast is included in the room cost. The staff couldn't have been more helpful in suggesting local sites and restaurants.

Room Tip: This is a very old hotel/residence. No elevator, stairs only to the upper rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews