We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
376
284
83
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
284
83
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building boutique hotel halliburton house great location continental breakfast free parking no elevator small hotel downtown halifax within walking distance mobility issues yogurt third floor hard boiled eggs nova scotia sitting area two nights
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of June. The hotel is pleasant and our room was comfortable but sadly the service was appalling. In every other hotel and B&B we have stayed in on our Canada trip the service has been really good. We weren’t shown to our room, were left to struggle with our cases and our greeting consisted of ‘Can I have your credit Card?’ It carried on in this vein and it is safe to say that any request was too much trouble - it is a real pity. Breakfast is something else. It consists of three very boring cereals, if you want porridge you have to make it yourself in the microwave from a sachet. There is fruit yogurt and bread but it is basic. If you want eggs they give you par boiled eggs which you have to peel and then put in the microwave. We thought the first day was an off day but it wasn’t and so we ate breakfast elsewhere. They supposedly have a fine dining restaurant so they have a well equipped kitchen. Needless to say having tried breakfast we did not venture in for dinner. Our room faced the street and only had wooden slat blinds so it was noisy and you could not get it dark. Fortunately we were still jet lagged so woke early anyway. Really sorry to say but I could not recommend it and interestingly it is the only hotel which didn’t send a booking.com link for me to write a review.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Warwick56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

We reserved 3 rooms for a family celebration. We were able to all be in the same building which made spending time together easy. The weather was lovely and we were sat outside in the courtyard, while in the evenings, we gathered in the one suite that is available at this Inn. It has a separate , spacious living room with comfortable seating where we could relax and talk without disturbing other guests. This room opened through French doors into a large bedroom with a king sized bed. and a huge bathrooom with soaker tub.
The other 2 rooms had high ceilings and enough space to sit in comfortable chairs or at the desk, without feeling cooped up. The queen sized beds and all linens were of good quality. The bathrooms were somewhat small but that is what you get in a vintage building. No major changes were made to take away from that style.
Free parking and very decent continental breakfasts ( I would add the option of offering decaf coffee ) added to the appeal. The hotel is in a quiet area of the city and yet central enough that we could walk to various places of interests without using the car. We will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, there are no elevators, so ask for a room on the main floor.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Hotel was in good location for downtown, harbour front and various restaurants. Was only a 15 to 20 minute walk from where the Airport Metrox bus drops you off.

Room was of a good size, well cleaned and setup. Could have done with some more channels on the TV, as quite limited if the weather outside is too poor to go out much. There is also no control within the room for heating or cooling, at least in the room we stayed.

Breakfast had enough options, that you could have enough difference if staying for more than a couple of days

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connovar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

The hotel is very nice, staff are pleasant and service was good. The restaurant “Stories” was great. Delicious food and service great. We would have rated this 5 except the bed was noisy. If you turned over you woke up your partner. We told them upon leaving so that should be fixed. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SShortliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

If you're looking to take in any activities downtown this is a great location with lots of nearby attractions. Staff are very friendly and the room is lovely and clean. Take in the delicious breakfast as well.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deanabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews