We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 17:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21
from US$4.95
More Info
from US$107.60
More Info
Reviews (1,880)
Filter reviews
1,880 results
Traveller rating
1,167
525
138
34
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,167
525
138
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ellis island family history guided tour entered canada immigrant experience minute film personal stories interactive displays well worth the visit couple of hours cruise ship nova scotia immigrants ancestors canadian relatives information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 1,880 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2019

Spent a few hours checking out this museum. Another piece of Canadian history. It was another rainy foggy day in Halifax so a grand way to spend the afternoon. There are short tours throughout the day.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank K5637SAdenises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2019 via mobile

I was visiting with my daughter who is attending Dalhousie University and we were checking out the sites.We really wanted to go to Pier 21 to find out the history of some relatives,mainly my father-in-law who came from England.we were able to find out about the ship he traveled on,and when we told him about it he was so excited that he showed us the pictures of the ship

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank petercT2356MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019

We caught up with a group tour, of the immigrants and arrivals into Canada through Pier 21. The museum is exceptionally good, and the tour was so informative - loved the detail and personal experience of our tour guide. But without a doubt the most exciting thing for us was finding my husband's grandmother's entry to Canada in 1919. It was a missing piece to a puzzle and truly the young lady at the computer found in within minutes. So were so excited about this we forgot to ask about our father's returning from war! What a wonderful geneology service.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank bedazzledPortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019

This hands on history lesson offers true stories and artifacts during a peak immigration period in Canadian History. Located at Pier 21 on Halifax Harbour, you will find the museum on the second floor. When cruise ships are in port, the lower level of Pier 21 houses an array of shops.
This is a must see! Allow 2-3 hours for the tour.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank 67_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019

The Pier 21 experience was everything and really more than I expected. It provided a super dissertation of what new immigrants had to endure to both get to Canada and then within Canada. There was quite an accurate collection of many artifacts and historical information of the Port of Halifax. There are many displays and a comprehensive exhibition of the diversity Canada has received. I found the museum was very well organized, the tours informative and well worth the admission. The souvenir store has a vast selection of collectables and memorabilia to buy. The staff is friendly and passionate to the history of this famous Pier. Really enjoyed the experience.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Blackwhistle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews