We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 17:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21
from US$5.02
More Info
from US$109.10
More Info
Reviews (1,880)
Filter reviews
1,880 results
Traveller rating
1,167
525
138
34
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,167
525
138
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ellis island family history guided tour entered canada immigrant experience minute film personal stories interactive displays well worth the visit couple of hours cruise ship nova scotia immigrants ancestors canadian relatives information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 1,880 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Spend some time looking into Canada’s and Nova Scotia’s past. The Canadian Museum of Immigration celebrates Canadian immigration stories from past to present.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CherylM119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

The museum itself is extremely interesting (and very important!) they also offer assistance in doing research surrounding your own families history. I was able to find out when my great grandfather came to Canada and even the exact boat he arrived on!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

At times difficult to bear witness to, this museum discussing immigration, refugees and entry to Canada is thorough and well laid out. Give yourself time to see it all.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Lots to see, there’s also a tour that you can take. We watched her 20 or so minutes video which was very good. It gave the perspective of what life is like in the challenges of being a new immigrants to Canada.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank palmercase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We visited the museum to see where our grandparents arrived in Canada. It was overwhelming. Displays feature how immigrants arrived and were processed and the problems they faced. The museum highlights the good and the bad. One exhibit was an opportunity to take the citizenship exam. Harder than it looks. I did pass. Don’t overlook the small main floor office where researchers will look up your family arrival details for you. At $15 a search well worth the lineup

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews