We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada
from US$88.24
More Info
from US$38.30
More Info
from US$275.00
More Info
from US$36.43
More Info
Reviews (3,717)
Filter reviews
3,717 results
Traveller rating
2,148
1,294
234
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,148
1,294
234
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews at noon army museum re enactments military history cannon firing guided tour dressed in period living history national historic site step back in time great view of the city answer questions world war lots of history great place to visit great history few hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 3,717 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

My wife and I spent two days in Halifax and one of the highlights was visiting the Citadel In the heart of downtown. The Canadian national Park service does excellent job of preserving and interpreting of this historic site that has seen military operations dating to the 1700s. Plan to take at least a couple hours. The admission fee is nominal. The views are amazing and again the history rich and the exhibits Smithsonian quality.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Markobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

It is Halifax / Citadel tradition that the cannon is fired at noon, and we were fortunate to be up close and personal for it.
Some of the site is under construction, but it didn’t impede our visit in any sort of way.
There was so much to do, and see and appreciate. The view of the city from up above was easy to enjoy.
The staff are very helpful and informative.

You could spend all day here if you really wanted to.
We will definitely return with our kids on another trip.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Moosemama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Great place to visit. We did a guided tour which was awesome and free. The place is well maintained and I really enjoyed seeing that they added an elevator to make it accessible for everyone.

The highlight was the firing of the traditional rifle and getting info about it.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Carlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

The Citadel was very interesting...so much history. We had a piper and guide. Both were very informative & interesting. Canons were fired & the Scottish guide explained the significance of the Citadel. Very well maintained. Worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 972doloresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

The Citadel is a beautiful place, well kept! So much history is displayed here, I was pleasantly surprised to find all the rooms with historical displays and so much information to take in!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews