We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada
from US$87.53
More Info
from US$37.99
More Info
from US$275.00
More Info
from US$36.14
More Info
Reviews (3,717)
Filter reviews
3,717 results
Traveller rating
2,148
1,294
234
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,148
1,294
234
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews at noon army museum re enactments military history cannon firing guided tour dressed in period living history national historic site step back in time great view of the city answer questions world war lots of history great place to visit great history few hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 3,717 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This impressive traditional star shaped citadel stands in a commanding position above Halifax. It is a fair but pleasant walk from the cruise terminal and can be approached from the extensive boardwalk and then a fairly steep hill, or a more gradual ascent on a diagonal route which takes around a half hour. Alternatively there are regular tours and taxis available.

It is managed by Parks Canada and caters well for the many tourists who visit each day. Dressed in traditional colonial and more modern military and civilian dress, there are many guides offering all sorts of tours and information to make the history of this extensive citadel accessible to visitors.

Each hour there are sentry changes with all the colour and pomp of the period. There is a “noon gun” ceremony and drill demonstrations, featuring bagpipe performances and cannon firing. The site offers full restroom, café and gift shop facilities and is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We could see the site from our Hotel "The Price George" and decided to tour this National Historic site.The walk up the hill to the site is not for the faint of heart yet you realize why this fort served as the protector of Halifax harbor. There are two levels to the fort , both have a lot of interesting artifacts. The site was undergoing restoration while we were there, but this did not interfere with the enjoyment of the site. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank xtremeleafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

First, you get a great view of the harbour, particularly the entrance. The army museum contained within the walls is first rate. Even after all my visits, I discovered this time Irasel's first PM trained with the British 39th in NS. As you walk the walls and visit the museum, one understands how Halifax was a first rate harbour which would have been difficult to attack until after WW2. If you are a history buff, you should visit York Redoubt as well (staff can give you directions). Depending on your plans you need visit the French fort in Louisbourg to get the big picture on those British-French wars.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

It's a fort! As they usually are it's on a hill! It is very steep from the waterfront!

We didn't take the tour, as we didn't expect to be there all that long and we would have been had there not been an extra very interesting exhibit.

A fort is a fort; they are all very similar. There is a lot of history here if you are local or an historian but for the usual tourist, not so much.

The view from the ramparts is a bit disapointing as the city is 'in the way'.

THEN exhibited in part of the moat there is an exhibit from 20th century history. There is a very good 'mock-up' of The Trenches from WW1. A great realistic (as much as it can be) display.

This reflected the Canadian contingent, as it should in this venue, however, as a Brit whose grandfather fought in the trenches I felt an affinity. GREAT!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank s555wht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

While it would be heaven for children, we two adults very much enjoyed our visit. The WW I exhibit on trench ward are was very interesting. Guides were enthusiastic and friendly. The organization of the whole place very good. It is well worth a visit!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JAnneBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews