We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Learned the origin of the name Nova Scotia

Learned so much history. The fort was originally built by the Scottish to start a New Scotland... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
Sue R
,
Salome, Arizona
Excellent

A really interesting place to visit. Guides are dressed in period costume and are very helpful and... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2018
pollyoppy
,
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Read all 375 reviews
  
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
239
111
19
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
111
19
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port royal costumed interpreters trading post from room to room self guided tour re creation samuel de champlain living quarters european settlement early settlement period costume short drive daily life definitely worth a stop canadian history small fort living history
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The guide at the Annapolis Tidal Generating Station recommended that we visit this historic site since it was only a few miles down the road. The guide there was dressed in period costume and gave an informative introduction before we entered the settlement. We learned a lot of the local history and what life was like in the 1600's. It is definitely worth spending a little time here.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

It's a nice site to visit to learn more about our history - You walk around and take all the time you need.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Glad I did not miss this historical recreation of the French Fort. The Parks employees are in costume and walking history lessons, very engaging and informative.
They brings to life the remarkable frontier experience and the relationship between the French and M'kMaq whose intermarried and became the Acadian people.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank rondeyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Before our visit, we were completely unaware of this local history. This habitation, burned by the British in the early 1600s, was carefully and accurately replicated. Guides are friendly and very informative. We saw some incredible wood lathe-work in progress, too. We came away with great insights overall and thoroughly enjoyed the visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank svale87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Anyone who studied Canadian history should be familiar with this location. Interesting and informative. Bring a picnic lunch and enjoy the grounds.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews