We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faux heritage, disappointing food”
Review of Wildcat Cafe

Wildcat Cafe
Ranked #8 of 82 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This is a modern building built to look like the original, heritage one. It seats about 30 inside, at communal picnic-style tables, which can be good or bad depending on your mood and who you share with.

We had lunch here in late August, close to when they close for the season. The menu was pretty limited, with no local items other than the whitefish (from Great Slave Lake), and no "fresh" items. My wife had the fish & chips, which was tasty, but nothing special compared to the same meal at several other restaurants in towns around the lake. I had the Bison Burger, which was disappointing. The patty was imported from Edmonton, likely frozen.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018

Food was nothing special, great atmosphere, good for lunch. Parking is limited so plan ahead. Quite a small venue.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Ate dinner here on a Saturday evening after hiking. Good service, good food, and a wonderful environment to enjoy a relaxing meal. Had the buffalo stew with bannock which was delicious. Table mates had the buffalo spaghettini and the jerk chicken appetizer. All meals were well cooked and served quickly. Would definitely return here for another meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank yyc44traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We live in Yellowknife, so whenever we want to give a visitor an interesting, Iconic and delicious taste of YK, we choose Bullocks. As is our regular practice, we showed up without a reservation (Bullocks never used to accept reservations). We were told that there would be no room for 45 minutes or more. We planned to wait. After a short time later I went in check the status, and was told that there would be absolutely no more room that evening, as they were sold out. Good thing we checked, or we would have waited an hour for nothing.

We decided we would return another day, and made a reservation. When we arrived on time for our reservation, other guests were seated at the table that was was marked reserved for us, and they were in the middle of their meal. We were told we could wait for them to finish or we could sit outside. We had not come prepared to sit outside. It was about 15 degrees Celsius. But we opted to sit outside rather than waiting 30 minutes or more past our reservation time to get the indoor table we reserved.

We waited outside for 30 minutes before the server noticed we (and another table) were awaiting service. And this only after someone from another outdoor table went inside to inquire.

When the server came out she advised that the cook staff was just turning over, and so she was told she couldn’t take any orders for 10-20 minutes to give the cooks time to catch up.

Our order was finally taken an hour after our reservation time. Once the order was in, the meal arrived within a reasonable time, it was correct, and very delicious. But a very chilly meal-time.

The server did the best she could in challenging circumstances.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank ImaTravellingFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

In the last four weeks I have taken both my mother and my mother-in-law here while they visited Yellowknife. Both times we had the white fish and the bison stew with bannock. It gave them a taste of the north in an authentic Old Town log cabin.

There are only a few tables so so want to get there just a bit before noon if you are having lunch to avoid being disappointed,

Or service was great and I would remind people that the cost of living is very high in Yellowknife and wait staff often work multiple jobs just to make ends meet. Remember to tip them as appropriate.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildcat Cafe also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Wildcat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing